Customer reviews for Gevalia Café de Oriente®

Gevalia Café de Oriente®

Café de Oriente®
Overall rating:
4.889 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
17 out of 17(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for Café de Oriente®
Review 1 for Café de Oriente®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Huge mistake- you are losing customers

PostedJune 22, 2014
Customer avatar
FromKansas/Madrid
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This reminds me of the exceptional coffee in Spain. I agree with the other reviewers- you are making a horrible mistake to discontinue Café de Oriente. It makes no sense to discontinue a coffee that many of your customers feel is the best coffee you offer.
My husband and I have been loyal Gevalia customers for years (actually, decades) and have gotten practically all of the coffee we drink from Gevalia. Alas, no more. The promise that you have something we will like equally well is empty. (How in the world can you pretend that Breakfast Blend is equivalent to Café de Oriente? That is a tasteless recommendation.) Over the years we have tried many of the other Gevalia coffees, and while some are “OK” this is the ONE we love and would purchase from you- if you would let us.
This does not seem to make good business sense, to decide not to sell what your customers want to buy. Do you not see the recurring theme in the reviews? We are not the only customers you are losing. Others will not bother to write a review to tell you why, but will just silently defect.
I hope you will find some way to let us know if you come to your senses and again offer Café de Oriente (including the decaf option). That is the only way we will resume our relationship with Gevalia.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Café de Oriente®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Parting is hurtful

PostedJune 16, 2014
Customer avatar
FromAccokeek, MD 20607, USA
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Gevalia I think you have made a terrible mistake in discontinuing this coffee. My last shipment I purchased several boxes to hoard away. Please reconsider this coffee along with the cafe de Grececo as they were just two of my favorites.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GevaliaBy CSRJune 30, 2014
We too loved Cafe de Oriente. Be assured it was not an easy decision to discontinue it. Our goal is to bring you the highest quality coffees and nothing less. Reducing our number of offerings will allow us to do just that. The good news is that our coffee experts worked hard to hand-pick alternatives we think you’ll love. This is a great chance to try something new! Just give us a call at 1-800-GEVALIA.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Café de Oriente®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Enjoyed by All

PostedMay 23, 2014
Customer avatar
FromAZ
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchase the coffee for my workplace and it can be a little hit or miss picking coffee for that many people. This flavor was very well received and everyone who drank it said they would like for me to order it again. People who enjoy stronger dark roast coffee really couldn't say enough about how much they enjoyed it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products I recomend
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Café de Oriente®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

Keep this Coffee available

PostedApril 23, 2014
Customer avatar
FromBellevue, NE, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please!!! I have been auto delivery buying this coffee for years. Now you inform me it is no longer available for auto delivery and you replace it with your "breakfast blend". That blend is NO REPLACEMENT for Cafe de Orient. I see that you are discontinuing ALL of the great dark roast coffees for auto delivery. I have been a loyal customer for years and your replacement breakfast blend is not welcome and it's obvious me being a loyal customer makes no difference to you. I have been drinking this coffee for so long that I didn't drink other brands. At least offer us a better dark roast for auto delivery than that funny tasting "breakfast ewww blend! I may have to discontinue my auto delivery as you have discontinued the only coffee I drink every day or did..
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GevaliaBy CSRApril 24, 2014
Thank you for being a long-time customer and providing us with your feedback. We’re sorry you weren’t happy with the recommended variety. We appreciate you being a long-time customer and do not want to lose you! This is a great chance to try other coffees you may be curious about and if you’re not happy with your selection, we’ll gladly help you choose a different variety or give you a refund. Just give us a call at 1-800-GEVALIA.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Café de Oriente®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Great cup of coffee

PostedApril 23, 2014
Customer avatar
FromFayette City, PA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:3-5 years
Take Gevalia:Black
If you like a dark roast then you'll love this coffee.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Café de Oriente®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Awesome Coffee too bad it's leaving

PostedApril 16, 2014
Customer avatar
FromO'Fallon, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:1-3 years
Take Gevalia:With milk only
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb coffee. Both my son and I LOVE this coffee. It's too bad it's going away. I hope it will come back at some point. 5 STARS.
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products I recomend
 
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Café de Oriente®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.

I'm going to miss this coffee!

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Customer avatar
FromDelaware
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I normally grind my own beans and make my coffee espresso style. But when I am serving a larger crowd and want to make an aromatic, strong but not bitter or acidic coffee, I brew "Café de Oriente". I have tried the breakfast blend, which is very smooth. But the aromas and flavors are not as strong. I will continue to use Breakfast Blend for breakfast but I plan to try other coffees to find a good afternoon / evening coffee . . .
Thanks for the many years of supplying this favorite!
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products I recomend
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Café de Oriente®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

Used product for years. This product has everything I need in a coffee.

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Customer avatar
FromIllinois
Age:I'd rather not say
Gender:I'd rather not say
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
Cafe Oriente has been my go to coffee for years. Morning, noon, night - the taste makes me smile. This product was a welcome constant in my daily routine. I shall miss the product as I understand it is being discontinued.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
JWBlack
West Virginia
 
Please wait while more information about JWBlack is loaded.
Additional information about JWBlack could not be loaded.
I Will Miss It :(
Posted March 13, 2014
I have been getting Cafe de Oriente for years on auto ship. I have not yet found a worthy replacement. Any suggestions? Every time I find something I like, I find it is also being discontinued. How many coffees are going to be discontinued before the only thing left is Gevalia's own? I do not like any of the Signature blends :(
I hope Gevalia will bring back some of the good ones.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 9 for Café de Oriente®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Love this coffee.

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:3-5 years
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Again, love this one. Sorry to see that it is being discontinued.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GevaliaBy CSRFebruary 19, 2014
Our focus is to bring you the highest quality coffee possible and to do so; we must focus on sourcing only the best beans from around the world. We’re sorry about your disappointment and want to let you know it was not an easy decision to discontinue Café de Oriente®. Because your loyalty is important to us we would love to have one of our coffee experts recommend alternatives we think you’ll love. Please call us at 1-800-GEVALIA. We would love to help you pick another variety.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Café de Oriente®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Pleasantly bold

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Customer avatar
FromLong Branch, NJ, USA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk only
This is my favorite Gevalia coffee. It is consistent in flavor and strength. I prefer my coffee strong. This coffee has a smooth taste.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Café de Oriente®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Great taste

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coffee has a very unique and rich flavor. I love my coffee on the strong side, and it's hard to find one that is strong and tastes good. This is now one of my favorite flavors from Gevalia.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Café de Oriente®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

The winey notes truly set this blend apart.

PostedAugust 24, 2013
Customer avatar
FromMichigan, USA
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:Within last year
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Toasted wine aroma, dark, rich flavor with a faint caramel creaminess, very smooth wine finish.
Of Gevalia’s European Coffeehouse Collection (Café Sperl®, Antico Caffe Greco, Café le Procope®), Café de Oriente® is my favorite. The winey notes truly set this blend apart.
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products I recomend
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Café de Oriente®
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Nothing special but OK

PostedJuly 27, 2013
Customer avatar
FromSevierville, TN, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:1-3 years
Take Gevalia:With milk only
Coffee was OK but disappointed in service and BOGO free offer. Still have not received the free coffee. Price is higher than I can get this brand at the local grocery store.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Café de Oriente®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Love This!

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Customer avatar
FromHouston, TX, USA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:Within last year
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My very first time ordering this flavor of coffee. Oh boy let me tell you we were surprised that it tasted soooooooo good. And the aroma while it is brewing is wonderful. If you haven't already tried it, please do, you will not be dissappointed!C
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Café de Oriente®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.

flavorful

PostedMarch 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Fromrural Idaho
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:3-5 years
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very satisfying dark coffee. Well balanced and smooth.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Café de Oriente®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

Very Smooth - like drinking liquid silk

PostedMarch 1, 2012
Customer avatar
FromTexas
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coffee is the one we always return to after occasionally trying various flavors and other varieties. This is a "must have at all times" in the cabinet.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
JWBlack
Smithville, WV
 
Please wait while more information about JWBlack is loaded.
Additional information about JWBlack could not be loaded.
Looks like Cafe de Oriente may be discontinued :(
Posted January 19, 2014
I've been getting Cafe de Oriente for years now but it looks like I'll have to find something else as it isn't avai;able. I so hate to see this one go. Do you have an alternate suggestion besides "Dark Roast"?
I sure hope they change their minds and bring it back so I can add it back to my auto ship.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 17 for Café de Oriente®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.

Simply Excellent!

PostedNovember 23, 2011
Customer avatar
FromNew York, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:1-3 years
Take Gevalia:Black
The coffee is so good that I can't wait until morning. I drink this coffee every day, but on the weekends I usually take two to three cups. It's like a ritual. I drink it slowly to prolong the pleasure. I love coffee, but I'm very picky and can't take just any coffee. This is the product I enjoy myself and would definitely recommend to others.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Kay56
rural Idaho
 
Please wait while more information about Kay56 is loaded.
Additional information about Kay56 could not be loaded.
Very Pleasing
Posted February 29, 2012
This is a wonderful coffee to savor, especially on cold winter mornings. Never bitter, just flavorful and dark.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 18 for Café de Oriente®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.

Truly YUMMY!!

PostedNovember 4, 2011
Customer avatar
Fromsanford NC
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:3-5 years
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
you actually taste the caramel notes. it's a deep flavor with a smooth finish!
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products I recomend
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer avatar
FasterCat
Indianapolis
 
Please wait while more information about FasterCat is loaded.
Additional information about FasterCat could not be loaded.
Current favorite
Posted September 4, 2012
Seems to have more of an authentic espresso flavor to me.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Healthystyle
KS
 
Please wait while more information about Healthystyle is loaded.
Additional information about Healthystyle could not be loaded.
Posted February 21, 2012
Rich, smooth and pleasant flavor.
+3points
3of 3voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
LostSpaniard
Los Angeles, California
 
Please wait while more information about LostSpaniard is loaded.
Additional information about LostSpaniard could not be loaded.
Smooth
Posted November 22, 2011
Dark yet smooth with no bitter aftertaste. I really enjoy opening a fresh pouch of Café de Oriente as the aroma is rich and not overpowering. If prepared with the right ratio of coffee to water, this can be enjoyed black - without any additives.
 
Products related to my comment
Café Sperl®
 
 
 
 
 
+2points
3of 4voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (3)
Read comments (3)