Customer reviews for Gevalia Café Sperl®

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Gevalia.

Gevalia Café Sperl®

Café Sperl®
Overall rating:
4.767 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(43 reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 43 reviews
5 Stars
39
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
41 out of 42(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Café Sperl®
Review 1 for Café Sperl®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

Simply fine.

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
I am EXTREMELY disappointed about Café Sperl® being discontinued. The suggested substitute (Breakfast Blend) does NOT remotely compare with Café Sperl®.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GevaliaBy CSRMarch 24, 2014
We’re sorry you weren’t happy with the recommended variety. We appreciate you being a long-time customer and do not want to lose you! This is a great chance to try other coffees you may be curious about and if you’re not happy with your selection, we’ll gladly help you choose a different variety or give you a refund. Just give us a call at 1-800-GEVALIA.
Review 2 for Café Sperl®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

absolutely wonderful taste as long as it was available

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Customer avatar
FromNashville, TN, USA
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
I have been consuming Sperl Cafe for many many years now and enjoyed every single cup of it. It has a wonderful full taste without any bitterness or acidic qualities; but I just found out that it suddenly was discontinued without prior notice and the recommended replacement breakfast blend, does not even come close to the Sperl Cafe. I am not sure what to do, Gevalia does not offer samples for its disappointed customers and I certainly don't want to try a whole box of all the other options, so I guess when I will be visiting Vienna this summer I will try to get my Sperl Cafe right there at the Sperl Cafe itself. I wish Gevalia would make a better effort to accommodate their long time customers who loose their favorite coffee (form reading reviews I realized I am not the only disappointed customers since Gevalia has discontinued a whole lot of its coffees).
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GevaliaBy CSRMarch 24, 2014
Hello, Diana. Thank you for being a long-time customer and for providing us with your feedback. We’re sorry you weren’t happy with the recommended variety. We appreciate you being a long-time customer and do not want to lose you! This is a great chance to try other coffees you may be curious about and if you’re not happy with your selection, we’ll gladly help you choose a different variety or give you a refund. Just give us a call at 1-800-GEVALIA.
Review 3 for Café Sperl®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

So many years I can't remember! Won't continue with auto order.

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Customer avatar
FromSeattle WA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk only
We loved this coffee. The coffee Breakfast Blend isn't tasty at all. No more auto order for us. I have found a Seattle coffee to replace Cafe' Sperl. Not quite as good but what can we do?
Cherry Street Coffe House, House Blend. They will send it from their website. I "follow" Cafe' Sperl" on this site in case it comes back.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Review 4 for Café Sperl®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

Topping the best!

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Customer avatar
FromMadison, NJ, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
It was an excellent coffee, grain quality and degree of roast paired to provide wonderful woody, berry, light nutty and spiced notes that danced in perfect harmony.
My favorite among favorites, at a price that it couldn't be beaten. I'm so sorry that it was taken out of the market.
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products I recomend
Café Sperl®
4.8 out of 5(43)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 5 for Café Sperl®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.

Cafe Sperl

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Customer avatar
FromGreenville, MI 48838, USA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
My husband and I have ordered Cafe Sperl for years (I've lost count how many years). While we never ordered the regular roast, we loved the Cafe Sperl decaf!! It is/was simply the best decaf of any coffee we've ever had!! Now what to do? I've tried numerous varieties of coffee, both regular and decaf, from Gevalia but Sperl is what kept me as a loyal customer. I love Gevalia's green tea too but am not sure I'll be keeping my account open if Sperl is no longer available. Boo, hoo….
Yes, I recommend this product.
Review 6 for Café Sperl®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

BEST coffee -- why discontinue?

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
I have been buying Cafe Sperl I think since it was new (close to 20 years). I also buy Le Procope, but the Sperl is my favorite -- smooth and well-balanced. I can't even begin to imagine why Gevalia is discontinuing this coffee! I found out when they sent me Breakfast Blend instead. I have no idea why they would have sent Breakfast blend, b/c it is not REMOTELY like the Sperl -- it is awful, honestly (almost bitter and too weak). PLEASE bring back the Europen coffee house coffees, and especially the Sperl. Until then, I am going to have to cancel my subscription, b/c I can buy far better coffee than the breakfast blend elsewhere.
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products I recomend
Café le Procope®
4.8 out of 5(9)
 
 
 
 
 
Response from GevaliaBy CSRFebruary 10, 2014
HI, Rachel. We’re sorry you weren’t happy with the recommended variety. We appreciate you being a long-time customer and do not want to lose you! This is a great chance to try other coffees you may be curious about and if you’re not happy with your selection, we’ll gladly help you choose a different variety or give you a refund. Just give us a call at 1-800-GEVALIA.
Review 7 for Café Sperl®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Best of Coffeehouse offerings

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
This coffee is smooth and not bitter, and delicious. So sorry to see it discontinued. It's the best of the Euro coffeehouse offerings.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GevaliaBy CSRFebruary 10, 2014
We too loved Cafe Sperl. Be assured it was not an easy decision to discontinue it. Our goal is to bring you the highest quality coffees and nothing less. Reducing our number of offerings will allow us to do just that. The good news is that our coffee experts worked hard to hand-pick alternatives we think you’ll love. This is a great chance to try other something new! Just give us a call at 1-800-Gevalia.
Review 8 for Café Sperl®
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Pretty box

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Customer avatar
FromAurora, CO, USA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aroma 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Uniqueness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is also more of a coffee to drink after dinner.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Review 9 for Café Sperl®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

No longer a customer

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Customer avatar
FromPort Angeles
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk only
Gevalia has dropped the café sperl coffee and substituted an inferior product not worth the money. Anyone who has walked through Vienna and had the café sperl coffee would be offended by the cheap flavor and taste profile of the Breakfast blend. After nearly 30 years of business with gevalia I am saying good bye.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Review 10 for Café Sperl®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

This is an excellent coffee

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Customer avatar
FromManhattan Beach, CA, USA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Other
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coffee in the light of the morning,
as the mug warms your hands....
it is the start of a happy day.....
This coffee in the rich quiet of the night,
as the taste rolls full and bright in your mouth....
is the start of a beautiful night.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Review 11 for Café Sperl®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

My Favorite of all the Gevalia offerings

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Customer avatar
FromBuffalo, NY, USA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Add me to the list of lovers of this coffee!
Gevalia offered the opportunity to sample a wide range of coffees, but I always gravitated back to Sperl.
The Coffeehouse Auto Delivery package was where I first tasted this marvel and would then measure all the other varieties using Sperl as a benchmark. It stood alone!
There's not much reason to continue auto delivery without a box of Sperl.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Terri
St. Paul, MN
 
Please wait while more information about Terri is loaded.
Additional information about Terri could not be loaded.
CRAZY to DISCONTINUE your BEST coffee!!
Posted February 11, 2014
This is absolutely CRAZY on your part to discontinue this coffee. It is smooth and the best I have ever tasted - been buying it for over 20 years! PLEASE RECONSIDER!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Terri
St. Paul, MN
 
Please wait while more information about Terri is loaded.
Additional information about Terri could not be loaded.
BEST EVER - CRAZY TO DISCONTNUE!
Posted February 11, 2014
Cafe Sperl is the BEST ever coffee and I do not like any of the other flavors as well! I have tried most of Gevalia and been drinking Cafe Sperl (decaf) for 20+ years or so!!! I will now be searching local health food stores for a new brand of coffee to buy. Good Bye Gevalia! PLEASE RECONSIDER as I am not alone in my preference of this coffee!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)
Review 12 for Café Sperl®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

The best of the Gevalia line, bar none

PostedDecember 19, 2013
Customer avatar
FromSpringfield, VA, USA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With sugar only
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is by far the best coffee in the whole Gevalia line; for that matter, it is in the top three coffees I have ever had anywhere! I was an exchange student in Vienna for my junior year of college. The real Cafe Sperl (yes--it does exist!) was between the little pension where I lived and my classroom building. I was a "regular" at that Cafe (as well as Cafe Museum right down the street!). I spent hours with coffee at Cafe Sperl and the Int'l Herald Tribune newspaper during that year. You can imagine my delight when Gevalia introduced this coffee some years back. It has an aroma like no other, excellent mouthfeel, and a full,rich flavor without a hint of bitterness. It is a tragedy that the bean counters from Kraft, Gevalia's corporate parent, who are clearly not coffee mavens, are now apparently exerting excessive control and are working to remove this ambrosia from the line-up in favor of more pedestrian and larger selling varieties. In short, try this one before it is gone!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Review 13 for Café Sperl®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

What a GREAT coffe! What a shame it was cancelled!!

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Customer avatar
FromMinneapolis, MN, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is one of my favorite coffees. I've been ordering it for years and am so disappointed that they cancelled it without notification. I've been a customer for over 15 years and am cancelling my account. How disappointing.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Thumper
 
Please wait while more information about Thumper is loaded.
Additional information about Thumper could not be loaded.
Agree completely!
Posted January 6, 2014
I love Sperl--can't believe it is being discontinued!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 14 for Café Sperl®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

Why Get Rid Of the Best Coffee

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is or should I say was the best coffee offered from Gevalia. I just came back to the company for this specific coffee and noticed it was unavailable. Hoping this was for a short time I opened up auto ship and began ordering again and now I see it has been discontinued. Not a wise choice! Not sure what I am going to do, I also get coffee shipped to my home from another company monthly as well. What is the reason for getting rid of this blend?
Yes, I recommend this product.
Review 15 for Café Sperl®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

My all time favorite!

PostedDecember 4, 2013
Customer avatar
FromMontana, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am so sorry Café Sperl is discontinued! I never get tired of this coffee. It was a wonderfully aromatic morning friend for years and just as good for an afternoon inspiration, with or without cream and sugar. Please bring it back.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Review 16 for Café Sperl®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

best coffee ever

PostedDecember 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
Does anyone have any suggestions as to what I can replace this excellent coffee with? I have had it on auto delivery forever. HELP I will probably end up canceling my membership.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Review 17 for Café Sperl®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

Cafe Sperl - discontinued!! :(

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Customer avatar
FromWalnut Creek, CA
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just love this coffee and it gets awesome reviews, so why on earth has it been discontinued?? I'm so disappointed!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Spider
 
Please wait while more information about Spider is loaded.
Additional information about Spider could not be loaded.
Say it ain't so!!!!!!!!!!
Posted December 2, 2013
Give us a good explanation, please.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 18 for Café Sperl®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

THEY HAVE DISCONTINUED MY FAVORITE COFFEE - WHY?!!!

PostedNovember 24, 2013
Customer avatar
The review is a one-star due to Gevalia discontiuing this FIVE STAR coffee. i have had a membership with Gevalia for many many years ordering this coffee regularly through all that time. I am heartbroken that they've discontinued this and have had to cancel my membership because of it. Please bring it back!
Review 19 for Café Sperl®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

This is how coffee should taste

PostedOctober 12, 2013
Customer avatar
FromChicagoland area
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was recently informed that the ground Sperl was being discontinued, but that the whole bean would still be available. That had better be true, or I will cancel my autoship account, which I've had since the early 90s.
Sperl is a very rich, full-bodied coffee, with just a hint on acidity. Each time you take a sip of this, you'll go, "ooh, this is good coffee." I promise.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Review 20 for Café Sperl®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

My favorite by far.

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Customer avatar
FromFL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
Cafe Sperl is my absolute favorite. It's been my automatic order exclusively for a few years now. I even take it with me when traveling, especially outside the U.S. Imagine my disappointment when I was told IT'S BEEN DISCONTINUED and my auto order could not be filled!!! Not sure what to try now since the Rep told me there really is no comparable coffee. HELP!
Yes, I recommend this product.
1 2 3 next>>