Customer reviews for Gevalia Traditional Roast

Gevalia Traditional Roast

Traditional Roast
Overall rating:
4.392 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(51 reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 51 reviews
5 Stars
40
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
6
44 out of 50(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
21 Questions | 29 Answers
Customer reviews for Traditional Roast
Review 1 for Traditional Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Great Coffee

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Customer avatar
FromBuffalo, NY
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
This brand is great in the morning, evening and night. Smooth bold taste.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Traditional Roast
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

2014 version poorer than 2012 mix

PostedJune 18, 2014
Customer avatar
FromSan Diego, CA, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Taste 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aroma 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Uniqueness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The mix for TR whole bean has changed for the worse. 2012's version was spectacular, consistent with all previous years; 2013, mid-year, saw a slide downhill. I have tried unsuccessfully to mix varieties of 2014 Gevalia to equate with past TR blends. From past tastings a key ingredient, among others, I think, was the Papua New Guinea whole bean, now co-incidentally unavailable. Aroma and taste was the dead giveaway for that bean's inclusion in historical TR. Please go back to the older TR mix 2012 and before, re-hire anyone responsible for that mix, charge a premium price if need be, but please restore the complete enjoyment of Gevalia for your fans. Coffee drinking is no fun anymore as I drift from coffee company to coffee company. That wonderful aroma & flavor are only a distant memory . . .
No, I do not recommend this product.
 
Products I recomend
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Traditional Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Best Coffee I've Ever Had!

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Customer avatar
FromAlexandria, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i've been drinking this coffee since 1987 and i haven't stopped. i never buy anything other than this coffee. the traditional roast it the thing for me. over the years, it's consistantly had the same great taste i remember from the first time i had it. so far, no guest i've ever had over and served coffee didn't like it and all ask what brand it was. paired with ultra half & half this is the best coffee i've ever had. no brand, no store, nothing has been better than this coffee. i keep it in one of those sealed jars with the gasketed lids and it stays fresh from the bag opening until the bag ends. perhaps, one of these days, i'll get a grinder and try the whole beans.
i highly recommend this particular flavor to anyone!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Traditional Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Great tasting coffee

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Customer avatar
FromCentral, NJ
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Been drinking coffee so long I can't remember when I started, I think it was back in college. Well I've been drinking Gevalia Traditional Whole Bean for about 15 years now on a friend's recommendation. Love it and the fact that I get automatic deliveries when I want them. Also like grinding the beans as the aroma is wonderful!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Traditional Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.

Great Taste ... but

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Customer avatar
FromTexas
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
I have used this coffee for about 14 years and love the taste for breakfast. However, I just discovered that my grocery store is carrying a 12 oz package of Gevalia Traditional for a dollar cheaper than this 8 oz package!! Guess where I'll be buying it from now on??
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (4)
Comments (4)
Customer avatar
Abrielle
 
Please wait while more information about Abrielle is loaded.
Additional information about Abrielle could not be loaded.
Bonnie
Posted February 11, 2014
Grocery store Gevalia is not vacuum sealed and the deals online are better than you can find in the market especially with free shipping.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
snook
Georgia
 
Please wait while more information about snook is loaded.
Additional information about snook could not be loaded.
Kat from Georgia
Posted February 7, 2014
I am a Traditional Ground Roast Gevalia Decaf . coffee drinker for years. My coffee pot stays on all day. I am 76 years young.
I recommend you try it.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
ErnieW
Albion, MI
 
Please wait while more information about ErnieW is loaded.
Additional information about ErnieW could not be loaded.
Posted January 17, 2014
Have found the same and LOVE the availability.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Kent13
Camp Hill, PA
 
Please wait while more information about Kent13 is loaded.
Additional information about Kent13 could not be loaded.
not the same
Posted January 7, 2014
Ditto! I did the same thing after all these years, and am very sorry I did. It is NOT THE SAME QUALITY. I'm back to ordering and cherish having Gevalia again in my cup!
Linda
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (4)
Read comments (4)
Review 6 for Traditional Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

The best of the best

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Customer avatar
FromFlorida, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
The traditional roast is the flavor I started drinking and the one I go back to. I always feel so comfortable and at home with this roast. It brings back memories of Sweden. Thank you
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Traditional Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.

great coffee

PostedNovember 23, 2013
Customer avatar
FromColumbia, MO, USA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:1-3 years
Take Gevalia:Other
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
love this coffee have told my friends I order this coffee
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Traditional Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

NOT BITTER

PostedNovember 9, 2013
Customer avatar
FromHouston, TX, USA
Age:I'd rather not say
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:Within last year
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AS I GET OLDER, COFFEE HAS A BTTER TASTE. I REMEMBER YEARS AGO I HAD TRIED GEVALIA AND REMEMBERED I LIKED THE TASTE SO I DECIDED TO GIVE IT ANOTHER TRY. AFTER MY FIRST CUP I AM HOOKED AGAIN. I HAD BEEN THINKING ABOUT GIVING UP COFFEE. BUT NOW I DON'T HAVE TO.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Traditional Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Hooked on Gevalia

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Customer avatar
FromBoise, ID, USA
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:Within last year
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been enjoying coffee since my teenage years, I am now over 40 and am a real coffee addict. There is a problem I've been having lately that has to do with the natural course of aging. This problem is the unbelievable bladder irritation caused by drinking too much coffee, which in turn leads to excessive urination. Wait, this only happens with EVERY coffee brand BUT Gevalia Traditional Roast Ground Coffee. This is common sense, yes it is, but much less so if I drink Gevalia. This may not be the case for you but this is MY Gevalia experience. In the US, it has the barcode number 043000042960 on the packaging. Go ahead, try it, you'll thank me later. Thank you Gevalia!!! Mr. H. from the USA.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Traditional Roast
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

What makes this different

PostedOctober 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:Within last year
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Let me phrase this is a great coffee, not to strong a taste but it is the ideal at home restaurant coffee that I have been looking. I was worried that it would be like some Donut shop coffee that I last got, but I would gladly try another type. I got the traditional roast (loose) and have been using it in a my coffee maker like a K-cup. I found that this makes it last a little longer. The only reason I wouldn't rate this as 5 stars is because I still feel tired after a cup. I like a Strong cup of coffee, but this I feel like this is week on the that affect.
Overall great coffee and I will be trying out some of the darker roasts.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Traditional Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.

Each cup is likened unto THE cup after fine dining.....

PostedOctober 3, 2013
Customer avatar
FromSeguin, TX, USA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Most every time I have my morning coffee I give "THANKS" because of it's aroma, flavor and what it reminds me of....I've been blessed to be able to enjoy superb restaurants throughout the U.S. and abroad. And the one thing I would relish after each of the outstanding meals, service, ambiance,and company is a fabulously delicious cup of coffee. It was the finale for each exquisite dining experience. THAT'S what Gevalia coffee reminds me of. I have not found a better coffee in the close to 20 years I've been sent their product.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Traditional Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

good flavor

PostedOctober 3, 2013
Customer avatar
FromHouston, TX, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
I like coffee and this one is a good one. Nice all around flavor.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Traditional Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Great coffee!

PostedOctober 3, 2013
Customer avatar
FromPeachtree City, GA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
The best medium bodied coffee on the market. We've bought Gevalia brand coffee for nearly 25 yr. This one is the best of the medium bodied coffees.
There is no aftertaste and it has the perfect balance of aroma and acidity.
We've tried many brands from around the world and this is by far the best!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
mINITA
PONCE,P.R.
 
Please wait while more information about mINITA is loaded.
Additional information about mINITA could not be loaded.
tRADITIONAL AND EXPRESSO I RECOMENDED
Posted October 3, 2013
iS ONE OF THE BEST COFFE I TRIED I USEDFOR MORE THAN 10 YEARS THANK YOU ALWAYS.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 14 for Traditional Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Delicious

PostedOctober 2, 2013
Customer avatar
FromPlantation, FL, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Drinking this coffee for 10+ years. Nothing else compares!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Traditional Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

Has been my favorite for years!

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer avatar
FromBagdad, KY
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Other
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the taste. Have mixed the regular and decaf since I began using it. Wish it came in single serve and half and half as well. Have found when using the ground coffee in the Kuerig K Cup, that the flavor is not as intense as brewing it in a drip maker.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Traditional Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

Traditional Roast

PostedAugust 9, 2013
Customer avatar
FromPhoenix, AZ
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:Evening
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Other
Exceptional robust flavor and depth!! Having received over 100 shipments in the last 15 years, I can say with complete confidence , "bravo".
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Traditional Roast
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

Very BAD after taste

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Taste 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Aroma 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Uniqueness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had Gevalia in the past and was excited to get the coffee and try it out. Both my wife and I were VERY disappointed in this coffee... go get floger's it would be better and cheaper.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Traditional Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

The best!

PostedJuly 4, 2013
Customer avatar
FromCA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:1-3 years
Take Gevalia:Other
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love Gevalia Traditional Roast coffee. Its smooth and full bodied and never, ever bitter. I'm usually a person who needs to put flavored creamer in my coffee but I can even drink this one black or with just a bit of milk or unflavored creamer and its still wonderful. It may not be incredibly unique because its "just" a traditional roast, but its a well made coffee at a reasonable price which in itself makes it somewhat unique nowadays. I definitely recommend it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Traditional Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

This is the best tasting coffee ever.

PostedMay 16, 2013
Customer avatar
FromDallas, TX, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:1-3 years
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This Traditional Roast is simply a great tasting coffee. It is always full-bodied and never bitter. It's hard to quit with just one pot.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Traditional Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.

The best coffee ever!

PostedApril 25, 2013
Customer avatar
FromWichita, KS
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband and I have been buying Gevalia Traditional Roast whole bean for about 10 years and, though we've tried other coffees, Gevalia Traditional Roast is still our favorite. We used to be on the automatic shipment program but when it became available in our grocery store we stopped the mail order program and began buying it in the store - it's the same coffee and now, we just pick it up when we doing our other shopping and often get it on special. We're Traditional Roast drinkers for life!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>