Customer reviews for Gevalia German Chocolate Cake

Gevalia German Chocolate Cake

German Chocolate Cake
Overall rating:
4.379 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(87 reviews) 87
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 87 reviews
5 Stars
67
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
9
72 out of 84(86%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer reviews for German Chocolate Cake
Review 1 for German Chocolate Cake
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Lovely!

PostedApril 13, 2014
Customer avatar
CoffeeFlavorSBE
FromFort Mill, SC, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:Within last year
Take Gevalia:Other
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am always pleased when a coffee has a wonderful aroma, but then I get excited when the flavor matches the aroma--and this coffee had me excited! German Chocolate Cake coffee is a reason to look forward to morning. Recommend.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for German Chocolate Cake
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

To be Discontinued?

PostedApril 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Xavierism
FromPhoenix, AZ
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
This is my favorite flavored coffee from Gevalia. I'm sad that this will no longer be available. I just placed another order - time to stock up!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for German Chocolate Cake
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

tast just like cake

PostedApril 4, 2014
Customer avatar
taylorm
Fromkansas
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Other
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
when the coffee is brewing and someone comes to the house they would swear you were baking a cake
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for German Chocolate Cake
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Happy, but sad

PostedApril 2, 2014
Customer avatar
eibbed511
FromCarencro, LA, USA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I LOVE this coffee, and like so many of the other customers I am so disappointed it is being discontinued. :(
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for German Chocolate Cake
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Love this flavor

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Customer avatar
baktga
FromOrleans, IN
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
I love this flavor, and I always get my sister some for Christmas. I am very disappointed that it is being dropped.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for German Chocolate Cake
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

What Is Going On????

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Customer avatar
LakeWoman
FromMN
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Other
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Got a note with my last shipment that you are now discontinuing German Choc. Cake also. What is going on Gevalia??? First Amaretto and now German Choc. Cake.
I don't get it, and please don't suggest another flavor. I give up!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GevaliaBy CSRMarch 18, 2014
Our goal is to always bring you the highest quality coffees and nothing less. Our beans come from all over the world and variations in crops year to year or high demand for certain beans can affect our ability to deliver the best coffee year after year. This was a factor in the decision to discontinue German Chocolate Cake. If you need help with picking an alternative please call us at 1-800-GEVALIA. We would love to help you pick something new.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for German Chocolate Cake
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

great taste!

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Customer avatar
ilovecoffee2
Frommidwest
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk only
We love this flavor! It has just the right amount of coconut and is very smooth. If you like German chocolate cake you will love this one too!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for German Chocolate Cake
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

yuck

PostedFebruary 14, 2014
Customer avatar
ruthie51
Taste 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Aroma 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Uniqueness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I wouldn't buy this again. It smelled wonderful but tasted burnt. I was pretty disappointed with it.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for German Chocolate Cake
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

The only flavored one I like, disappointed to learn it's going away.

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Customer avatar
TBNC
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the only one of the flavored coffees I've tried that I like. With the last shipment, the notice that it will no longer be available was really disappointing. I, like others I've read really hope Gevalia reconsiders this decision.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for German Chocolate Cake
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

A quaint change from regular coffee.

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Babsy
FromNew Jersey, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Other
Taste 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Although I am a lover of German Chocolate Cake, I thought the "German Chocolate Cake" lacked, in my opinion, some "true German Chocolate Cake" flavor. It needed some more depth to reach that title. Although it was NOT A BAD COFFEE as the chocolate hints were there, my friends who also tasted it agreed with my comments above. I enjoy it most dunking biscotti in a cup of this variety coffee:)
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for German Chocolate Cake
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

Wonderful

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Customer avatar
nana2four
FromTravelers Rest, SC
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love, love, love German Chocolate Cake flavor. My 15 year old grandson takes a large cup on the school bus. He is so upset that it's being discontinued. Sure wish you would reconsider.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GevaliaBy CSRFebruary 10, 2014
We are very sorry to hear you are upset. We too loved German Chocolate Cake. Be assured it was not an easy decision to discontinue it. Our goal is to bring you the highest quality coffees and nothing less. Reducing our number of offerings will allow us to do just that. The good news is that our coffee experts worked hard to hand-pick alternatives we think you’ll love. This is a great chance to try other something new! Just give us a call at 1-800-Gevalia
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for German Chocolate Cake
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Cake in a cup

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Customer avatar
ljreynolds
FromSanta Fe, Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:Within last year
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I loved tasting all of the flavors of one of my favorite cakes in my coffee cup! It's incredible! Highly recommended if you love German Chocolate Cake!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for German Chocolate Cake
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

First Time Surprise

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Customer avatar
JNYC
FromNYC
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:Within last year
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Taste 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aroma 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wasn't sure what to expect at all because it was my first time using this site. I purchased the grounded version because we don't have a coffee bean grinder.
When I opened this box, the smell was a pleasant coffee-chocolate smell (obviously). I personally didn't smell the coconut like some of the reviewers have noted. While it brewed, the smell was reminiscent of being in a cafe with the aroma of coffee and desserts. Finally, when I finally got to taste it... It was surprisingly good! I was afraid the "German chocolate cake" flavoring would be too artificial/overwhelming but the flavor was relatively mild and complimented the coffee's taste. As a sweet tooth + milk and sugar person, this coffee was an absolute treat. If you've got a sweet tooth, try it!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for German Chocolate Cake
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Delicious

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Karenano
FromSafford, AZ
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:3-5 years
Take Gevalia:With sugar only
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very satisfying taste. Unique and comforting. Great on a cold morning.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Katie2
 
Please wait while more information about Katie2 is loaded.
Additional information about Katie2 could not be loaded.
Wonderful cup of coffee!!
Posted March 13, 2014
I dearly love the German Chocolate Cake coffee - the coconut flavor is just the right amount . . . delicious to savor! I was truly disappointed to learn from my shipment yesterday that this flavor is being discontinued - so sad! Gevalia, please reconsider this move, or at least offer something else similar in taste.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 15 for German Chocolate Cake
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

strong coconut smell!

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Customer avatar
takaimeow
Taste 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aroma 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Uniqueness 
3 / 5
3 / 5
When i open the box, it have a really strong coconut smell. this is my first time trying the flavor coffee and i got to say, i really prefer the coffee smell over the flavor smell in my cup of coffee. does not taste bad, just not my cup of coffee.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for German Chocolate Cake
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

It tastes great,what a treat!

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Customer avatar
ILoveGevalia2014
FromLos Angeles, CA, USA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:3-5 years
Take Gevalia:With milk only
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I use it in my expresso maker with soy or hazelnut milk, its truly a perfect drink. I also have it over ice.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for German Chocolate Cake
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

surprised

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer avatar
sammy316
FromOhio
Age:45-54
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:1-3 years
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aroma 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am one who does not really care for flavored coffees and usually regrets when purchased and give it away; however, this one surprised me. It has a subtle chocolate flavor, with the coconut being more prominent, though subtle itself. I will be keeping this one! Even my husband likes it, plain!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for German Chocolate Cake
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Light Chocolate Heaven

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Customer avatar
SKayS
FromPA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coffee has a light distinctly chocolate taste. Not harsh... Not watery and just a hint of the fragrance of vanilla. This is a coffee you can enjoy any time and not feel guilty or all day and not feel overwhelmed. I was drinking the Decaffeinated version and I am sure the Caffeinated would be immensely satisfying.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for German Chocolate Cake
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

German Chocolate!

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Okcoffeelover
FromOklahoma, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
Not too strong in the chocolate flavor and therefore I was pleasantly surprised and enjoyed the coffee.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for German Chocolate Cake
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Love it!

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Customer avatar
GeorgiaPeach
FromAlpharetta, GA, USA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
German Chocolate Cake flavored coffee is one of my favorite! Everything about it is wonderful. The coconut is magnificent and perfectly blended. I love, love, love this product.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>