Customer reviews for Gevalia Ugandan African Moon

Gevalia Ugandan African Moon

Ugandan African Moon
Overall rating:
4.143 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
16 out of 21(76%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for Ugandan African Moon
Review 1 for Ugandan African Moon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Great Coffee!

PostedJune 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:Within last year
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My mom bought this coffee for me! It is amazing. Even people I work with like this coffee.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ugandan African Moon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Full flavor

PostedJune 21, 2014
Customer avatar
FromEvansville, IN, USA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the best, why is it bring discontinued? I would buy all I could.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GevaliaBy csrJuly 1, 2014
We too loved Ugandan African Moon. Be assured it was not an easy decision to discontinue it. Our goal is to bring you the highest quality coffees and nothing less. Reducing our number of offerings will allow us to do just that. The good news is that our coffee experts worked hard to hand-pick alternatives we think you’ll love. This is a great chance to try something new! Just give us a call at 1-800-GEVALIA.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ugandan African Moon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Coffee Fit For Kings

PostedJune 9, 2014
Customer avatar
FromNorth Carolina
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Other
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simply the best coffee you offer. I would recommend this coffee for all situations and all times of the day. Great Taste,Aroma and pleasing to the Palate.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ugandan African Moon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

Sad and dissappointd

PostedApril 5, 2014
Customer avatar
FromLouisiana, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:1-3 years
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When my Cafe Sperle was discontinued a few months ago, I had to look for a replacement. I tried the Breakfast
blend that Gevalia seems to be pushing but did not like it as well as others I have tried, Then I tried African Moon, and wow, was it good. I have had it on auto order since then and have loved it every day. It is smooth and low acidity and just has a good taste. Now I find that it, too, has been discontinued. What is going on? Why are the best blends being discontinued and apparently Breakfast Blend being pushed? Oh well, I am going to try another and hope it will be available for longer than these two have.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ugandan African Moon
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Would not get again

PostedNovember 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Taste 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Aroma 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I found a new slogan for it:
"Who needs a laxative when you have Gevalia's Ugandan African Moon"
This coffee has a very unique but strange flavor. It is very dark/bitter-tasting, however the coffee itself is not very strong. It upset my stomach as well and gave me diarrhea multiple times. I have tried it many ways, with a french press, a slow drip, iced, black and hot, with condensed milk, with milk, etc and have not found it very enjoyable. I still have half a bag left... and am tempted to just toss it. I have never tried gevalia before, and I wanted to be adventurous, so I thought "maybe one of the more expensive flavors would be good", but I was wrong. I do not recommend.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
1Nana1
 
Please wait while more information about 1Nana1 is loaded.
Additional information about 1Nana1 could not be loaded.
Update
Posted December 20, 2013
OP here, I gave this coffee another try, and found that it is best with a french press, black with some sugar and ice. It is not too bad anymore.... probably more of an "acquired taste" coffee. This is still the last time I will be buying this though.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 6 for Ugandan African Moon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

A most tasty brew-one of my favorites

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Customer avatar
FromBloomington, IL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product has my vote for one of the Gelalia's best. I buy it for myself and purchase it as a gift for special friends. The taste and aroma are wonderful. It is great as a treat and/or daily use. Can't hardly wait for tomorrow's cup!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ugandan African Moon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

This product is unique.

PostedJuly 26, 2013
Customer avatar
FromRogers, AR, USA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have tasted many many coffees around the world. This coffee is the best ever. It beats Jamaican Blue Mountain hands down. I have recommended African Moon to every coffee lover I have met.
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products I recomend
 
Costa Rica Peaberry®
4.8 out of 5(39)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ugandan African Moon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.

Best ever !!!!

PostedApril 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Fromcolorado springs, Co
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been a coffee snob for many, many years now. I started with Gevalia at least thirty years ago and my coffee then was Stockholm Roast. I now use a variety of roasts and flavors and Ugandan African Moon is my new favorite. Its a robust coffee with a wonderful taste, strong but not bitter. I highly recommend this coffee if you like a full flavor well rounded cup of java. Its the best ever.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ugandan African Moon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Must try this one

PostedApril 24, 2013
Customer avatar
FromKansas City, MO, USA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is, by far, one of the best coffees I have ever had. It is dark, delicious, rich and wonderful. Not to be missed.
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products I recomend
Café Sperl®
4.8 out of 5(43)
 
 
 
 
Colibri Azul
4.8 out of 5(14)
 
 
 
 
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ugandan African Moon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

vry smoth flavor, but too expensive for my budget

PostedApril 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Fromnebraska
Gender:Female
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
smooth flavor, intriging aroma, but as i say too expensive to enjoy on a regular basis.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ugandan African Moon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Smooth, bold roast

PostedNovember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
FromWI
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a great cup of coffee! Smooth bold and comforting. I love this coffee, this is my all time fav!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ugandan African Moon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Great Coffee

PostedNovember 11, 2012
Customer avatar
FromCincinnati, OH, USA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk only
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Uniqueness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This has become one of my favs from Gevalia! For a dark roast coffee, it is pleasantly smooth. I have not experienced any bitter taste as other negative reviews have mentioned. I do have a machine that provides options for brew strength, and the flavor is amazing whether I brew it on "bold" or "robust".
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products I recomend
Toraja
4.9 out of 5(14)
 
 
 
 
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
antar29
San Antonio, Texas
 
Please wait while more information about antar29 is loaded.
Additional information about antar29 could not be loaded.
Best Coffee
Posted February 15, 2014
African Moon is our favorite! Hands down the best Gevalia has. We have been drinking it for years, and hope to have it for years to come.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 13 for Ugandan African Moon
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

bitter

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Customer avatar
FromTokyo, Japan
Age:35-44
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Taste 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Aroma 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Uniqueness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
It had a bitter after taste that lingered, I would not get this again.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ugandan African Moon
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

great coffee

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Frommichigan
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:3-5 years
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Taste 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aroma 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
its unique unlike anything i ever had, its a little strong wouldn't add any extra than it says in directions.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ugandan African Moon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

African Moon tastes so good!

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Customer avatar
FromCanton OH
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This coffee was a surprise. Even though it is listed as dark, bold- it is very smooth. It has a very pleasing feeling on your tongue. When family took one sip of this coffee, they all remarked as to how good it was.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ugandan African Moon
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Not tasty

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Customer avatar
FromHudson, N.H.
Age:55-64
Gender:I'd rather not say
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Aroma 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Uniqueness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Extremely poor quslity. I did not like anything about this coffee nor my friends that I introduced it to.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ugandan African Moon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.

Perfect for me

PostedMay 6, 2012
Customer avatar
FromVacaville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Other
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Being born in Uganda, I may be a bit biased but I was intrigued by its origin, so I decided to try it out. I have not been able to find a better tasting cup of coffee since! Very bold and palatable. I always put cream in my coffee and this one does it justice as it as rich and satisfying.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ugandan African Moon
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.

Boring

PostedApril 3, 2012
Customer avatar
FromChardon OH
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:Within last year
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aroma 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Uniqueness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Very plain and basic. There's nothing unique about this coffee in the least. I certainly won't be ordering this one again.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Karen47
Vacaville, CA
 
Please wait while more information about Karen47 is loaded.
Additional information about Karen47 could not be loaded.
hard to believe
Posted May 6, 2012
I am very confused as to how you could find this coffee boring. I buy it whole bean and grind them myself, using one full scoop per coffee-maker cup. Maybe you just don't make it like I do.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 19 for Ugandan African Moon
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.

Okay, but disappointing.

PostedMarch 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:3-5 years
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Taste 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aroma 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Uniqueness 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Everything about this coffee, from the higher price to the description of being well bodied and such had me expecting one of the best cups of coffee I had ever had. Tea drinkers unite. I was so disappointed, tossed all ther est into the plastic bin with the "junk Foldgers" coffee. Weak in flavor, and bold as Lipton Tea. Even using double what cup should require was not enough to make this a great cup.
Don't misunderstand: It is "nicely flavored" but so weak as be very disappointing. Like mild tea? You will enjoy this.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ugandan African Moon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.

delicious

PostedDecember 1, 2011
Customer avatar
FromNorth Dakota
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
Smells and tastes delicious. Not bitter, even when I accidentally made it VERY strong. I've purchased several boxes now.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>