Customer reviews for Gevalia Dark Roast

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Gevalia.

Gevalia Dark Roast

Dark Roast
Overall rating:
4.603 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(63 reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 63 reviews
5 Stars
51
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
56 out of 63(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Dark Roast
Review 1 for Dark Roast
This review is fromDark Roast Decaf Ground.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Another great coffee

PostedSeptember 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coffee is as great as any other coffee Gevalia sells. They are better than good, they are great.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Dark Roast
This review is fromDark Roast Decaf Ground.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

I love the traditional dark roast decaf and am sad to hear it is discontinued.

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Customer avatar
FromTexas
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Other
This is the ONLY coffee I have been drinking for years and I love it. What substitute would you recommend to replace this when Traditional Dark Roast is discontinued.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GevaliaBy CSRSeptember 9, 2014
Good news to hear you’re interested in recommendations. Our coffee experts worked hard to hand-pick alternatives we think you’ll love. This is a great chance to try something new! Just give us a call at 1-800-GEVALIA.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Dark Roast
This review is fromDark Roast Regular Ground.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

nice blend of a Dark Roast

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Frommansfield. ohio
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
If you like a Dark Roast coffee, this is a nice one. No dark after taste that some like but not me. If you do not like a Dark Roast, but are tempted, this might be one to try.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Dark Roast
This review is fromDark Roast Regular Ground.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Great Taste

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Customer avatar
FromOhio
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:3-5 years
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
So why the low rating? The grind of this coffee is so fine, it clogs up our coffee maker and makes an incredible mess! The pods have the same problem! They messed up our K-cup machine! Your coffee does taste excellent but we won't be purchasing it anymore. We were fortunate to get our two coffee makers working again!
No, I do not recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Dark Roast
This review is fromDark Roast Regular Ground.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Best coffee I've ever had.

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Customer avatar
FromSt. Clair, MI, USA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
The Gevalia Dark Roast is my favorite coffee ANYWHERE! The smooth, rich, dark flavor makes it to the top of my list. Hope it will be available to me for the rest of my life. Nothing else compares. Gevalia Dark Roast has set the bar too high for anyone else to compete.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Dark Roast
This review is fromDark Roast Decaf Ground.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

great taste

PostedAugust 2, 2014
Customer avatar
FromNorfolk, VA, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Why do people think decaffeinated coffee has to be weak. This has a good strong taste nothing weak about this at all.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Dark Roast
This review is fromDark Roast Regular Ground.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Good tasting Everytime

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Customer avatar
FromCocoa, FL, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
Love this Dark Roast coffee and have recomended it to several people. And they have ordered it too. The flavor is always good and never bitter. Even if you make it to strong or weak, it is good.
I just might have to order more in the next shipment.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Dark Roast
This review is fromDark Roast Decaf Ground.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

This is an excellent bold flavored coffee

PostedJune 26, 2014
Customer avatar
FromPhiladelphia PA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
This is an excellent bold-flavored rich coffee. Unfortunately, it is no longer available in decaf
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Dark Roast
This review is fromDark Roast Regular Ground.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

The taste of home, but better!

PostedJune 18, 2014
Customer avatar
FromBaton Rouge, Louisiana
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:Within last year
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
As a Louisianan, I grew up on robust, dark roasted coffee. This roast from Gevalia has all the flavor to which I am long accustomed without so much as a trace of acidity. Really something!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Dark Roast
This review is fromDark Roast Decaf Ground.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Darl Roast

PostedMay 26, 2014
Customer avatar
FromDenver, CO, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:3-5 years
Take Gevalia:Black
A very rich coffee flavor. Too bad it is not longer available. So many companies make very few decaf coffees. I cannot tolerate the caffeine so I come back to Gevalia time and time again because they do offer rich, decaf coffees.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Dark Roast
This review is fromDark Roast Regular Ground.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

The only coffee I drink

PostedMay 25, 2014
Customer avatar
FromLos Angeles
Age:I'd rather not say
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
It's been more than 20 years. I will drink no other coffee. Just the Dark Roast.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Dark Roast
This review is fromDark Roast Decaf Ground.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

This is the best coffee ever!!!

PostedMay 17, 2014
Customer avatar
FromPA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
This is by far the most flavorful coffee I have ever tasted. I like both the "high-test" and decaf versions. I'm devastated that my last shipments came with labels indicating that the dark roast is being discontinued. There really is no substitute for this particular roast. Believe me, I've tried all the different coffees over the years. I needed to find one that would stand up to hours in my thermos when I carted it to work and that wouldn't give me indigestion. Gevalia dark roast lived up to all my expectations and I've been drinking this particular Gevalia roast since 1994. I have to say that mornings will not be the same without it. I just can't say enough good things about Gevalia dark roast....it's simply the best!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Dark Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Love this

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Fromarizona
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We have gotten this for years and is one of our favorites in whole beans. they list "Unfortunately, DARK ROAST WHOLE BEAN is being discontinued from our Collection. Item is available for one-time orders only, while supplies last.
Our team of coffee experts hand-picked a recommended alternative and thinks you’ll love Breakfast Blend Whole Bean"
BUT that is no where near as good and we do not like most of their other dark roast as this was the best that they carried!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GevaliaBy CSRMarch 13, 2014
We’re sorry you weren’t happy with the recommended variety. We appreciate you being a long-time customer and do not want to lose you! This is a great chance to try other coffees you may be curious about and if you’re not happy with your selection, we’ll gladly help you choose a different variety or give you a refund. Just give us a call at 1-800-GEVALIA.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
dwk138
Pasadena, TX
 
Please wait while more information about dwk138 is loaded.
Additional information about dwk138 could not be loaded.
Why? If it ain't broke, don't fix it!
Posted May 12, 2014
I am extremely put off that Dark Roast is no longer being offered. I also have been ordering this for years. Velvet Noir is good, but not the same as dark roast. I believe Gevalia is making a BIG mistake in no longer offering the richest, boldest coffee that is still one of the smoothest, tastiest coffees around. I have gotten many friends to start ordering Gevalia purely from using Dark Roast. This needs to be added back.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 14 for Dark Roast
This review is fromDark Roast Regular Ground.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Love this coffee

PostedApril 23, 2014
Customer avatar
FromFayette City, PA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:3-5 years
Take Gevalia:Black
If you like a dark roast you'll love this coffee. I only buy Gevalia.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Dark Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Lovely aroma, full body and smooth on the tongue.

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Customer avatar
FromBaltimore, MD, USA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have been drinking Gevalia Dark Roast for the past 26 years and am quite disappointed that it is being discontinued. One would think that 13 of 17 positive reviews would tell a company all they need to know about their product. I hope to be able to find another coffee at Gevalia as aromatic, full bodied and smooth as the Dark Roast. I have served it to scores of friends and family over the years and it has always been a satisfying way to start the day or finish a meal.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GevaliaBy CSRMarch 3, 2014
Hi Edgar, Thank you for being a long-time customer and providing us with your feedback. Our focus is to bring you the highest quality coffee possible and to do so; we must focus on sourcing only the best beans from around the world. We’re sorry about your disappointment and want to let you know it was not an easy decision to discontinue Dark Roast. Because your loyalty is important to us we would love to have one of our coffee experts recommend alternatives we think you’ll love. Please call us at 1-800-GEVALIA. We would love to help you pick another variety.
Review 16 for Dark Roast
This review is fromDark Roast Regular Ground.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Gevalia's Dark Roast is Simply the best

PostedApril 16, 2014
Customer avatar
FromElkhart, IN
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
There is no better cup of coffee than the Dark Roast. My friends and family look forward to stopping by for a cup of coffee - and many placed their own orders!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Dark Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Bring Back Whole Beans!

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Customer avatar
FromRochester, NY, USA
I have been buying the regular Dark Roast for many years and am VERY disappointed to learn that the company has discontinued the whole bean version.
For now, I have signed up to continue my auto-delivery order with the pre-ground version as a substitute. I certainly hope it tastes as good as the fresh ground coffee I was drinking each day!
I would MUCH prefer that the decision-makers re-think this move and restore the whole bean version as one of the selections.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GevaliaBy CSRMarch 3, 2014
Our focus is to bring you the highest quality coffee possible and to do so; we must focus on sourcing only the best beans from around the world. We’re sorry about your disappointment and want to let you know it was not an easy decision to discontinue Dark Roast Whole Bean. Because your loyalty is important to us we would love to have one of our coffee experts recommend alternatives we think you’ll love. Please call us at 1-800-GEVALIA. We would love to help you pick another variety.
Review 18 for Dark Roast
This review is fromDark Roast Regular Ground.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Have used this coffee for many years. Love the dark roast.

PostedMarch 30, 2014
Customer avatar
FromPA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Our family has been using the dark roast coffee for many years and love it. We like strong coffee but not bitter coffee so this meets our needs.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Dark Roast
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Was a great coffee

PostedFebruary 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Taste 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Right up until they've discontinued the whole bean version. Seems they are discontinuing a lot of whole bean offerings. As a long time customer on regular delivery, I'm disappointed and will have to look for another quality supplier for my morning fix. Not sure who at Gevalia is making these decisions, but it seems like a bad one.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GevaliaBy CSRFebruary 12, 2014
We are sorry you are disappointed. Our focus is to bring you the highest quality coffee possible and to do so; we must focus on sourcing only the best beans from around the world. We’re sorry about your disappointment and want to let you know it was not an easy decision to discontinue Dark Roast. Because your loyalty is important to us we would love to have one of our coffee experts recommend alternatives we think you’ll love. Please call us at 1-800-GEVALIA. We would love to help you pick another variety!
Review 20 for Dark Roast
This review is fromDark Roast Regular Ground.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Not what it used to be.

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
Still my favorite coffee, but it doesn't have the richness and strength that it once did.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>