Customer reviews for Gevalia Dark Roast

Gevalia Dark Roast

Dark Roast
Overall rating:
4.316 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
15 out of 19(79%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for Dark Roast
Review 1 for Dark Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Love this

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Fromarizona
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We have gotten this for years and is one of our favorites in whole beans. they list "Unfortunately, DARK ROAST WHOLE BEAN is being discontinued from our Collection. Item is available for one-time orders only, while supplies last.
Our team of coffee experts hand-picked a recommended alternative and thinks you’ll love Breakfast Blend Whole Bean"
BUT that is no where near as good and we do not like most of their other dark roast as this was the best that they carried!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GevaliaBy CSRMarch 13, 2014
We’re sorry you weren’t happy with the recommended variety. We appreciate you being a long-time customer and do not want to lose you! This is a great chance to try other coffees you may be curious about and if you’re not happy with your selection, we’ll gladly help you choose a different variety or give you a refund. Just give us a call at 1-800-GEVALIA.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
dwk138
Pasadena, TX
 
Please wait while more information about dwk138 is loaded.
Additional information about dwk138 could not be loaded.
Why? If it ain't broke, don't fix it!
Posted May 12, 2014
I am extremely put off that Dark Roast is no longer being offered. I also have been ordering this for years. Velvet Noir is good, but not the same as dark roast. I believe Gevalia is making a BIG mistake in no longer offering the richest, boldest coffee that is still one of the smoothest, tastiest coffees around. I have gotten many friends to start ordering Gevalia purely from using Dark Roast. This needs to be added back.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 2 for Dark Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Lovely aroma, full body and smooth on the tongue.

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Customer avatar
FromBaltimore, MD, USA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have been drinking Gevalia Dark Roast for the past 26 years and am quite disappointed that it is being discontinued. One would think that 13 of 17 positive reviews would tell a company all they need to know about their product. I hope to be able to find another coffee at Gevalia as aromatic, full bodied and smooth as the Dark Roast. I have served it to scores of friends and family over the years and it has always been a satisfying way to start the day or finish a meal.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GevaliaBy CSRMarch 3, 2014
Hi Edgar, Thank you for being a long-time customer and providing us with your feedback. Our focus is to bring you the highest quality coffee possible and to do so; we must focus on sourcing only the best beans from around the world. We’re sorry about your disappointment and want to let you know it was not an easy decision to discontinue Dark Roast. Because your loyalty is important to us we would love to have one of our coffee experts recommend alternatives we think you’ll love. Please call us at 1-800-GEVALIA. We would love to help you pick another variety.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Dark Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Bring Back Whole Beans!

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Customer avatar
FromRochester, NY, USA
I have been buying the regular Dark Roast for many years and am VERY disappointed to learn that the company has discontinued the whole bean version.
For now, I have signed up to continue my auto-delivery order with the pre-ground version as a substitute. I certainly hope it tastes as good as the fresh ground coffee I was drinking each day!
I would MUCH prefer that the decision-makers re-think this move and restore the whole bean version as one of the selections.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GevaliaBy CSRMarch 3, 2014
Our focus is to bring you the highest quality coffee possible and to do so; we must focus on sourcing only the best beans from around the world. We’re sorry about your disappointment and want to let you know it was not an easy decision to discontinue Dark Roast Whole Bean. Because your loyalty is important to us we would love to have one of our coffee experts recommend alternatives we think you’ll love. Please call us at 1-800-GEVALIA. We would love to help you pick another variety.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Dark Roast
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Was a great coffee

PostedFebruary 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Taste 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Right up until they've discontinued the whole bean version. Seems they are discontinuing a lot of whole bean offerings. As a long time customer on regular delivery, I'm disappointed and will have to look for another quality supplier for my morning fix. Not sure who at Gevalia is making these decisions, but it seems like a bad one.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GevaliaBy CSRFebruary 12, 2014
We are sorry you are disappointed. Our focus is to bring you the highest quality coffee possible and to do so; we must focus on sourcing only the best beans from around the world. We’re sorry about your disappointment and want to let you know it was not an easy decision to discontinue Dark Roast. Because your loyalty is important to us we would love to have one of our coffee experts recommend alternatives we think you’ll love. Please call us at 1-800-GEVALIA. We would love to help you pick another variety!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Dark Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

BEST in the WORLD

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Customer avatar
FromAnchorage, AK, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk only
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the BEST coffee I have ever had, period. My husband and I have been drinking it each morning (and taking a travel mug to work) for 10 years.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Dark Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

love this

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Customer avatar
FromArizona, USA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have gotten this flavor for years and love it. It is so rich and full flavored. It is my favorite of all the dark roasts. They mention breakfast blend as an alternative. Don't bother. Breakfast blend is bland and boring after having tried the dark roast. Dark roast is superb and so much better than any other type offered.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Dark Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Product unavailable? Oh No!

PostedOctober 3, 2013
Customer avatar
FromNorth Carolina
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
We are terribly disappointed the Dark Roast Whole Bean Decaf has been unavailable for awhile, as we have enjoyed it for years. We grind our coffee fresh each morning, a mixture of whole bean regular and decaf. Please bring it back.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Dark Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.

The only coffee I drink

PostedMarch 9, 2013
Customer avatar
FromLos Angeles
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been drinking DARK ROAST for about 20 years. It has body and strength, but is smooth with no bitterness. It is the only coffee I drink at home. The gourmet and chain coffee houses seem to believe that coffee should smell and taste like burnt toast. I've tried other blends of coffee, and Gevalia DARK ROAST is the only coffee I buy.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Dark Roast
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.

dissapointed

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Customer avatar
FromUSA
Taste 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Aroma 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Uniqueness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I am in the process od trying to find a decaff dark roast. This dark roast is flat tasting. The aroma is aweful and even in the bag smell like stale coffee. It is in a silver bag, but the box says it is in a gold bag. It also has no button on the silver bad to let out the air. I now have to get through 2 of these bags of coffee.
The french roast in decaff was better tasting, although still in a SILVER bag.
I would like my money back as well.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Dark Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.

Great bold flavor

PostedDecember 7, 2012
Customer avatar
FromGlenwood Springs, CO 81601, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:1-3 years
Take Gevalia:Other
The aroma of this coffee is amazing. I have a hard time waiting for it to finish brewing. If you like a dark roast coffee, try this one.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Dark Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.

Accept

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Customer avatar
FromBrownstown, Michigan
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk only
I love strong coffee and Gevalia's dark roast is the best dark roast that I have ever tasted. It is full bodied and never scorched or bitter tasting. I'm a coffee snob and I only drink Gevalia.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Dark Roast
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

Not worth it.

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Customer avatar
FromHartford, CT
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:Within last year
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Taste 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Aroma 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Uniqueness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Average taste with no deep flavor despite the dark roast description.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Dark Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.

The taste of this coffee is wonderful.

PostedApril 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Fromrural Idaho
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:3-5 years
Take Gevalia:Black
We love dark roasts in our home, and this is fantastic. It has such a pleasant flavor for a dark roast, fills the house with aroma and is nice and strong, but not bitter. Another favorite of ours!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Dark Roast
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.

Used to be GREAT

PostedMarch 25, 2012
Customer avatar
FromBay Area, California
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aroma 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Uniqueness 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have had a subscription for Dark Roast for over 20 years. I have loved it as is and have also used it as a base for blending. I have recommended it over and over again. But, something has changed. My last two orders, the coffee came in a silver bag, (bag used to be gold) and the quality of the coffee has gone from gold quality to silver or maybe even bronze. Something has changed beside the color of the bag. It tastes like decaf, flat and uninspiring. I am using the same coffeemaker, water, and amount of coffee. Whatever changed, please change it back. I miss my coffee!
No, I do not recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Dark Roast
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

Used to be GREAT

PostedMarch 25, 2012
Customer avatar
FromBay Area, California
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aroma 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Uniqueness 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I've had a subscription for Gevalia Dark Roast over 20 years. Loved it as is and as a base for other blending. Recommended it over and over. Something changed. Last two orders coffee was in silver bag (used to be gold) and the quality of the coffee has gone from gold quality to silver or maybe even bronze. Something changed besides the bag color. It tastes like decaf, flat and uninspiring. Same coffeemaker, same water, same amount of coffee. This makes me very sad to have to write!
No, I do not recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Dark Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.

Excellent!

PostedJanuary 16, 2012
Customer avatar
FromWheeling, WV
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:3-5 years
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
I have always shied away from dark roast coffees thinking that they would be too strong tasting & bitter...but I was so wrong. This Dark Roast has become my favorite. Such a nice mellow taste. I especially enjoy it in the winter although it is good anytime.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Dark Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

always fresh

PostedNovember 16, 2011
Customer avatar
FromMedford, NY, USA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:Within last year
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
love it,s taste smell and consistency, and thank you for your automatic service, a win win combination.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Dark Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.

European boldness at its best!

PostedNovember 16, 2011
Customer avatar
FromPasadena, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
Dark roast has long been my ultimate favorite from Gevalia. After a short stay in Denmark, I realized that the stronger, bolder coffees common to northern Europe suited my taste better than anything else.
Never bitter, I grind my beans very fine to get the most of this robust coffee. Good any season, any time, any temperature, it has remained the first coffee I turn to when I want a superb cup of coffee.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Dark Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.

Best Dark Roast - Ever

PostedNovember 3, 2011
Customer avatar
FromDenver, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Other
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have tried all of the other full flavor/dark roast blends, and the Dark Roast by far, is the best. It is very smooth, not very acidic and is good for any time of day. The flavor beats any blend I have found on Gevalia, popular chains (Starbucks, Seattle's Best, etc), or the grocery store. I have been drinking this blend for at least 8 years and Gevalia for at least twice that long. I do not foresee ever needing to make a change.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.