Customer reviews for Gevalia Antico Caffe Greco

Gevalia Antico Caffe Greco

Antico Caffe Greco
Overall rating:
4.857 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
20 out of 21(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for Antico Caffe Greco
Review 1 for Antico Caffe Greco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.

Great Flavor

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Customer avatar
jqcreative
FromPhiladelphia, PA, USA
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:Within last year
Take Gevalia:With milk only
Overall, one of the best coffees available from Gevalia. Bold, yet smooth. Great combination of attributes make this one of my favorites for any time of day.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Antico Caffe Greco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Please reinstate Antico Caffee Creco.

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Knlena
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
I am sorely disappointed that Gevalia has chosen to discontinue Antico Caffe Greco. Please bring this product back. The suggested replacement product (Breakfast Blend) NOT compare in quality. Please reinstate this selection.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GevaliaBy CSRMarch 24, 2014
We’re sorry to hear you weren’t satisfied with the recommendation made by our master tasters. Because your loyalty is important to us we would love to have one of our coffee experts recommend alternatives we think you’ll love. It’s a great chance to try something new and if you’re not happy with a recommendation, we’ll gladly help you choose something else or give you a refund. Just give us a call at 1-800-GEVALIA.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Antico Caffe Greco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

A SUPERIOR COFFEE, THE BEST.

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Customer avatar
SherrieH
FromGeorgia, USA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Ok, before I start my diatribe, I must say in complete honesty, that I have always been a HUGE and loving fan of Gevalia from the very beginning. I had been a patron of Gevalia for almost 15 years and I was completely stunned and angered by the cancellation of Antico Caffe Greco! In the beginning, I always purchased a variety pack of four boxes of coffee which were delivered approximately six or seven times during a year with Antico Caffe Greco always being one of the four coffees ordered. I completely looked forward to opening that particular one box of coffee when finally, thump on the head, I realized that I could turn my variety pack into purchasing just one type of coffee--four boxes of my all time favorite--Antico Caffe Greco! (My only regret is that it took me a few years to realize this and that I didn't have to wait to get to my favorite box of the four...I could have had it all year round). So, at least 12 years out of the 15 years in which I've been subscribing to Gevalia, I have had Antico Caffe Greco the entire time and I never looked back.
When I shockingly realized that Antico Caffe Greco was cancelled, I abruptly and immediately cancelled my 15 year patronage to Gevalia. I will never return to Gevalia until Antico Caffe Greco returns.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Antico Caffe Greco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

Best product you selll

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Customer avatar
Mellij
I want my cafe Greco back. Best coffee you sold. Why did you get rid of it? PLease bring it back. Breakfast blend is nothing like it. You have a nerve saying it is. . . .
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Antico Caffe Greco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.

My all time favorite Gevalia coffee for MANY years

PostedDecember 25, 2013
Customer avatar
czarban1
FromMN
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this coffee. Strongly encourage you try it. Dark roast with wonderful flavor..... but not bitter! Win - Win!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Charlie8484848
 
Please wait while more information about Charlie8484848 is loaded.
Additional information about Charlie8484848 could not be loaded.
Antico Greco GONE
Posted December 30, 2013
This was the best, by far, of all the coffees Gevalia sold. It is so, so sad that we cannot get this any longer.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 6 for Antico Caffe Greco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.

Reminds me of Europe

PostedDecember 4, 2013
Customer avatar
sirlythan
FromNampa, ID, USA
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:Special occasions
Length of use:Within last year
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So disappointed this was discontinued. A couple years ago, we used to get regular delivery and this was the high point. This coffee reminded me of what we had in Germany, when I was stationed there. A different pace of life, slow and relaxed. I wanted to get some of this, along with the Irish Creme for the wife's birthday, but I guess it just wasn't meant to be.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Antico Caffe Greco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

European taste

PostedOctober 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Chitowngirl52
FromIllinois
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:3-5 years
Take Gevalia:With milk only
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coffee is so full bodied and rich, it reminded me of the wornderful coffee that my husband and I had while we traveled in Italy. It is a nice strong coffee, but not at bitter; very smooth. I used to go to Starbucks often for my coffee, but after I discovered I could make a coffee this good at home - I rarely go there anymore (tho they are good too). Whenever I make this for guests, they always comment about it. So I hope Gevalia never intends to discontinue Caffe Greco as it is so very good! In the summer, it makes a nice iced coffee as well - so I enjoy it year-round.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Charlie8484848
 
Please wait while more information about Charlie8484848 is loaded.
Additional information about Charlie8484848 could not be loaded.
Posted December 30, 2013
That is one of the many things I love about this coffee. Great flavor, the best coffee aroma EVER, and I can brew some in the morning and, if by chance, there is any left at the end of the day, it makes a great iced coffee.
I hope Gevalia reconsiders. I have yet to find any kind of good replacement, within Gevalia and outside. :(
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 8 for Antico Caffe Greco
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

The aroma, taste, and finish are well married.

PostedAugust 19, 2013
Customer avatar
DJS1
FromMichigan, USA
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:Within last year
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aroma 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dark, enticing aroma, rich, toasted flavor, sweet caramel notes on the finish.
This is a very smooth and well-rounded dark roast, intense and full bodied. The aroma, taste, and finish are well married.
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products I recomend
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Antico Caffe Greco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

Fun Surprise

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Sarah40
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have loved almost all the Gevalia products I have tried. This one is especially good. Dark, full-bodied with a hint of caramel.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Antico Caffe Greco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

The best coffee

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Jesusfreak7
FromHamilton, MT
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
I find this to be by far the best coffee I have ever had - I've tried others, but I always come back to Caffe Greco. This is definitely the very best of the best any time of day!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Antico Caffe Greco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

Robust Flavor

PostedNovember 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Kay56
Fromrural Idaho
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:3-5 years
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This flavorful dark coffee is very satisfying. Full bodied and bold, it is a great start to my husband's and my mornings.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Antico Caffe Greco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.

One of the best!

PostedJune 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Lila
FromGeorgia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:3-5 years
Take Gevalia:With milk only
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my all time favourite coffee. I make it very strong and more than I plan to drink hot then put the extra in the refrigerator to make my own ice coffee. I only add cream to my very dark brew and it tastes like dark velvet....rich and smooth. No bitter after taste! Just came back to Gevalia because I couldn't find anything like this any where else!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Antico Caffe Greco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.

Aptly named.

PostedMay 23, 2012
Customer avatar
TheProfessor
FromCalifornia, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coffee is indeed similar to what you get at its namesake in Rome. Unique and interesting coffee flavors; robust but with low acidity. It is easily one of my Gevalia favorites.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Antico Caffe Greco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.

GREAT, full coffee

PostedMay 1, 2012
Customer avatar
StephanieM
FromPhoenixville, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:Within last year
Take Gevalia:With milk only
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I LOVED this coffee. I have tried several Gevalia varieties, and this one by far and away was my favorite. It was truly a full bodied, rich cup of coffee with no bitterness or sourness. If you like Starbucks, you will like this brew. It was wonderful. I don't know how the person who made it thought it was weak or thin or like tea. I made it with my Keurig and it was full and absolutely satisfying.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Antico Caffe Greco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.

Excellent

PostedMarch 14, 2012
Customer avatar
IFortuna
FromTexas
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Other
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recently have re-tried several of the Gevalia coffees and found that this is my favorite. This is a rich, full-bodied and most flavorful coffee. My next favorites would be the Cafe Sperl and the Creme Brulee. I highly recommend this coffee for those who love a rich coffee that bursts with flavor. The acidity appears to be low as I have never had a problem with it or all of the other Gevalia coffees I have tried. This would also make the perfect expresso and is never bitter.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Antico Caffe Greco
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.

Very disappointing coffee.

PostedMarch 12, 2012
Customer avatar
george
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:3-5 years
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Taste 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aroma 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Uniqueness 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought about a dozen coffees from Gev to try some new flavors and look for some with good strength of character:
I hoped to find bold flavor, good solid bodied coffee, and feel like I had a great cup. This is supposed to bold and flavorful. Since it was "Caffe Greco" I figured that this would be it! Alas, what a disappointment. Bold = good tea water.
Even doubling up using twice the normal amount of coffee could not give this what it needs. If you make coffee to "sip tea with your girl friends" you will probably like this: it has some characteristics that remind of a mild columbian blend, but without the strength and boldness. I will add this to my "dump can" of Folgers mix, where I throw all the disappointing stuff for use in the shop at work.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Antico Caffe Greco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.

My all-time favorite

PostedFebruary 3, 2012
Customer avatar
TomW
FromChicago
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Other
This is my all-time favorite -- rich and dark yet smooth, with a great aroma. For me, it comes closest to the best coffee experiences I've had in cafes while traveling to Europe.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Charlie8484848
sacramento, ca
 
Please wait while more information about Charlie8484848 is loaded.
Additional information about Charlie8484848 could not be loaded.
Loss of a Great Coffee
Posted October 11, 2013
Unfortunately, after 25+ years of drinking one of the best european coffees Gevalia had to offer, they have decided to discontinue this product. Bad decision. Whatever the real reason, know that I have enjoyed your service for this long and, unfortunately for you, I am preparing to cancel my account. No need if you don't have this coffee.
I wish you would reconsider, but this one voice probably carries no weight. Thanks for the past and shame on you for the future.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 18 for Antico Caffe Greco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.

Mmmmmmm!!!

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Customer avatar
JannyD
FromMinnesota
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:Within last year
Take Gevalia:Black
There is nothing more I can add to Mmmmmm!!! Both my husband and I really enjoyed this coffee and I saved the box so I know which one to order again...and again...and again.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Antico Caffe Greco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.

Best coffee ever

PostedDecember 30, 2011
Customer avatar
Rasa
FromSC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
I tried a lot of different brands and names but Antico Caffe Greco was best I've ever tried. Wonderful aroma, low acidity and taste you can feel for the rest of the day. Love it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Antico Caffe Greco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.

This is a wonderful coffee

PostedNovember 20, 2011
Customer avatar
Bandaide
FromTX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
Caffe Greco is a rich, bold coffee and one of my favorites.
I definitely recommend it!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>