Customer reviews for Gevalia French Vanilla

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Gevalia.

Gevalia French Vanilla

French Vanilla
Overall rating:
4.542 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(48 reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 48 reviews
5 Stars
39
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
3
42 out of 46(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for French Vanilla
Review 1 for French Vanilla
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Both regular and Decaf are great

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Customer avatar
FromTucson, AZ, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bad decision to discontinue French Vanilla decaf. I also do not want any substitute, may have to look locally in the future
Yes, I recommend this product.
Review 2 for French Vanilla
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

flavor

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Customer avatar
FromNew Mexico, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
enjoy the flavor and do not have heart burn with my morning coffee
Yes, I recommend this product.
Review 3 for French Vanilla
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

Discontinuing French Vanilla. Bad idea.

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Customer avatar
FromOhio
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Discontinuing French Vanilla. I have belonged to Gevalia for a long time and have generally used French Vanilla Decaf and Hazelnut Decaf 90% of the time. Like another person said, I also am not interested in substituting another flavor. You have cancelled several other things of late and now only Hazelnut remains. Not much to hold on too.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
CJNeal
Dallas, TX
 
Please wait while more information about CJNeal is loaded.
Additional information about CJNeal could not be loaded.
French Vanilla
Posted August 10, 2014
I see that you are discontinuing your French Vanilla decaf. this is quite disheartening. Our coffee orders normally contain 2 regular of various flavors for my husband and 2 French vanilla decaf (the only coffee I drink). I was browsing and see that you are actually discontinuing a lot of flavors. I guess I will be discontinuing my orders for Gevalia coffees and purchase some other brand. I have loved Gevalia for many years, but this is disappointing
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
desrazor1
Lothian, Md.
 
Please wait while more information about desrazor1 is loaded.
Additional information about desrazor1 could not be loaded.
Posted August 6, 2014
I also have enjoyed the French Vanilla Decaf and am sorry to see it go!! Some items on my auto delivery had been cancelled as of late also!! What's going on Gevalia??? I have been a customer for over 3 years and am suddenly doubting my subscription. Hopefully Gevalia will make things right again.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)
Review 4 for French Vanilla
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.

Why oh why must it go???

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Customer avatar
FromPortland, OR, USA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:1-3 years
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We finally found our favorite decaf to blend with a little caffeine- the decaf french vanilla is divine!!! We cannot imagine our mornings without it! But, Gevalia, you are making us! SO SAD! Boooo- there is NOTHING else like it on your site! RECONSIDER and keep us as loyal customers!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Review 5 for French Vanilla
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Just OK

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:3-5 years
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aroma 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Uniqueness 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not very impressed with this coffee. I see lots of it left on the store shelves.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Review 6 for French Vanilla
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Gevalia- "The Better Brew"

PostedJune 6, 2014
Customer avatar
FromArkansas
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:Within last year
Take Gevalia:With milk only
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was in the restaurant industry for 5 years, I KNOW good coffee. Later I was in the corporate world and had coffee in world class resorts in Hawaii and Miami as well as eating in a 5 star restaurant in Houston.
Gevalia is "The Better Brew"... I have never seen such a fine grind of coffee, the aroma is supurb. I personally like a lighter roast but even if you make a stronger cup the first time you use your brewer it will still taste smooth and flavorful.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Review 7 for French Vanilla
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Great Taste

PostedJune 2, 2014
Customer avatar
FromAlbuquerque, NM, USA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:Within last year
Take Gevalia:With milk only
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've always loved French Vanilla of anything even instant coffee. I thought I'd try the flavor of Gavalia's brand and I just love it. I'll be sure to keep this one on my shelf at all times.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Review 8 for French Vanilla
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Love the special Nut flavor!

PostedMay 27, 2014
Customer avatar
FromFlorida
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk only
Vanilla Nut is delicious! It is not too sweet, a little nutty, very mild and pleasant-tasting. I would order this product again and again if you still carry it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Review 9 for French Vanilla
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Discontinued also?! No!!!!!

PostedMay 10, 2014
Customer avatar
FromMO, USA
Age:I'd rather not say
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One by one the flavored decaf coffees that I love are being discontinued. As someone who blends the decaf with the same flavor that has caffeine (which allows me a smaller amount of caffeine) this is extremely frustrating. I am concerned that one by one as I pick a new decaf flavor that is will also be discontinued.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GevaliaBy CSRMay 12, 2014
Our focus is to bring you the highest quality coffee possible and to do so; we must focus on sourcing only the best beans from around the world. We’re sorry about your disappointment and want to let you know it was not an easy decision to discontinue French Vanilla. Because your loyalty is important to us we would love to have one of our coffee experts recommend alternatives we think you’ll love. Please call us at 1-800-GEVALIA. We would love to help you pick another variety.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
tomdill
 
Please wait while more information about tomdill is loaded.
Additional information about tomdill could not be loaded.
not satisfactory
Posted May 17, 2014
My wife can drink only decaf, and she has enjoyed the Gevalia flavored decaf coffees, French Vanilla, especially. This is both disappointing and possibly a "deal-breaker" for us, since it appears more and more difficult to find decaf flavors among the Gevalia offerings.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 10 for French Vanilla
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Too bad this coffee is leaving

PostedMay 10, 2014
Customer avatar
FromNew Pekin, IN 47165, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I agree that it is a bad idea to discontinue this wonderful coffee. I am not interested in substituting it for something else. Sorry, Gevalia. If I wanted a different coffee, I would have ordered it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Review 11 for French Vanilla
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

great smooth taste

PostedMay 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Fromhartford, CT
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk only
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great coffee! Excellent hint of vanilla, very smooth, relaxing taste. All of which is completely irrelevant, as this decaf flavor is being discontinued. Obviously Gelvia has decided to target regular coffee segment and exit decaf (flavored as well as virtually all whole bean and ground non-flavored varieties too).
It would be good business practice to maintain a small token decaf collection just to hold that small segment, who then recommend to others, who drink regular coffee etc...Who ever said business decisions are based on sound logic. Oh well. I know, I know- " we strive to maintain quality product, but unable to procure year round supply", etc... etc... etc....
Yes, I recommend this product.
Review 12 for French Vanilla
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Heavenly

PostedApril 28, 2014
Customer avatar
FromAustin, TX, USA
Age:I'd rather not say
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:1-3 years
Take Gevalia:With sugar only
This is THE coffee to just unwind with. It's got great flavor. It reminds me of relaxation. When you need that 20 minute break from work, kids, chores, etc. Sit down with a cup or two. Heck, if you got the time, drink the whole pot.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Review 13 for French Vanilla
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Bad decision to discontinue French Vanilla

PostedApril 9, 2014
Customer avatar
FromLA
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best coffee ever so great decision, Gevalia, to discontinue. I thought I would settle for the vanilla nut only to read the reviews that it is also discontinued. I've been a customer for years and have tried almost all the flavors and none were to my liking. I'm definitely going elsewhere.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GevaliaBy CSRApril 10, 2014
Our goal is to always bring you the highest quality coffees and nothing less. Our beans come from all over the world and variations in crops year to year or high demand for certain beans can affect our ability to deliver the best coffee year after year. This was a factor in the decision to discontinue French Vanilla. If you need help with picking an alternative please call us at 1-800-GEVALIA. We would love to help you pick something new.
Review 14 for French Vanilla
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Good simple flavor.

PostedApril 9, 2014
Customer avatar
FromMarathon, IA 50565, USA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Taste 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aroma 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Uniqueness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A good simple flavor for those who might not be as adventurous as some.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Review 15 for French Vanilla
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Love that my husband will drink this flavored coffee!

PostedApril 3, 2014
Customer avatar
FromCO
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:Within last year
Take Gevalia:Black
My husband only started drinking coffee about 4 years ago. I had to drink alone, so I didn't make it. Now, because of Gevalia flavored coffees, we can make a pot of coffee every morning.
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products I recomend
French Vanilla
4.5 out of 5(48)
 
 
 
Hazelnut
4.8 out of 5(40)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 16 for French Vanilla
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

GREAT taste

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Customer avatar
FromPlattsburgh, NY, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:1-3 years
Take Gevalia:Other
This is great tasting coffee and would recommend it to anyone
Yes, I recommend this product.
Review 17 for French Vanilla
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

MY FAVORITE!

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Customer avatar
FromLas Vegas, NV, USA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This has been my favorite Gevalia coffee for years. Not an overwhelming vanilla flavor and that is what I like. My last order had a sticker on the top of the box saying you were discontinuing the DECAF FRENCH VANILLA. I hope this is not true! I will be very sad since I've been buying for many years.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GevaliaBy CSRMarch 18, 2014
Hello, Doris. Thank you for being a long-time customer. We too loved French Vanilla. Be assured it was not an easy decision to discontinue it. Our goal is to bring you the highest quality coffees and nothing less. Reducing our number of offerings will allow us to do just that. The good news is that our coffee experts worked hard to hand-pick alternatives we think you’ll love. This is a great chance to try something new! Just give us a call at 1-800-GEVALIA.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
DDT37
Fort Wayne, IN
 
Please wait while more information about DDT37 is loaded.
Additional information about DDT37 could not be loaded.
French Vanilla Decaf
Posted March 23, 2014
If you are truly going to discontinue the French Vanilla decaf coffee we will no longer be a customer-period!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 18 for French Vanilla
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Top notch roast! Just wish it weren't ground so finely...

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Customer avatar
FromSan Francisco, CA, USA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:Within last year
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I use a Keurig machine and transfer a scoop of grounds into a special re-usable K-cup. This coffee is so finely ground that I can't use my normal re-usable K-cup and have to switch it out for an entirely different setup that has more mesh on the sides for liquid flow. This only happens with coffees that are finely ground - typically I get the beans ground coursely (for a french press) and that works great. This is my ONLY complaint about this coffee, and its not unique to this flavor. The flavor itself is actually my favorite of all the ones I have in my collection at home (and I have a lot)!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Review 19 for French Vanilla
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

ONE OF THE GREAT ONES..

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Customer avatar
FromCoronado, CA, USA
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ONE of the first coffee's I tasted when I was just 16yrs old..My mother use to serve it where she worked..i was instantly hooked on Gevalia, and ever since, I been buying it...I guess I inherited my good taste for Gevalia, from my Dear MUM...
this is a classic..a must have..
Yes, I recommend this product.
Review 20 for French Vanilla
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

subtle vanilla flavor

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Fromtexas
Age:I'd rather not say
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:3-5 years
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
I love the taste of the subtle vanilla plus nut flavors that blend so smoothly in a symphony of delicate sweetness. This reminds me when your mother's love manifested in sugar cookies with nuts. This coffee has a delightful flavor.
Yes, I recommend this product.
1 2 3 next>>