Customer reviews for Gevalia Mocha

Gevalia Mocha

Mocha
Overall rating:
4.233 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(30 reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 30 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
21 out of 28(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for Mocha
Review 1 for Mocha
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Smooth, great flavor

PostedApril 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Mary64
FromNew York state
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I too am truly disappointed by your decision to discontinue Mocha. It is my favorite coffee and I have ordered it for as long as I've been your customer. Nothing else of yours or outside compares to it. If you ever decide to bring it back, contact me. I have cancelled my auto delivery.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GevaliaBy CSRApril 7, 2014
Hello, Mary. Thanks you for being a long-time customer. Our goal is to always bring you the highest quality coffees and nothing less. Our beans come from all over the world and variations in crops year to year or high demand for certain beans can affect our ability to deliver the best coffee year after year. This was a factor in the decision to discontinue Mocha. If you need help with picking an alternative please call us at 1-800-GEVALIA. We would love to help you pick something new.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mocha
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

Have always loved the "hint of chocolate" when we'd mix the mocha with our regular coffee.

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Tinafx
FromSeattle
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We've been drinking Gevalia for many years, always ordering the regular and mocha with each auto shipment. Gevalia has never failed us with the taste of their coffee. Now to find that the mocha is no longer available is very disappointing. Then when we find that your own recommendation for an alternate, Dark Chocolate Truffle, is also being discontinued is really not good customer service. So I searched for any chocolate flavored coffee and find the only one left is German Chocolate which includes coconut (yuck). No chocolate!!! Will you be coming out with something else in the future? You KNOW we need our chocolate!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GevaliaBy CSRMarch 24, 2014
Hello, Tina. We too loved Mocha. Be assured it was not an easy decision to discontinue it. Our goal is to bring you the highest quality coffees and nothing less. Reducing our number of offerings will allow us to do just that. The good news is that our coffee experts worked hard to hand-pick alternatives we think you’ll love. This is a great chance to try something new! Just give us a call at 1-800-GEVALIA.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mocha
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

MOCHA

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Customer avatar
patty43
FromEl Paso, TX, USA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
I have been buying this coffee for years. At least 15 years. I am extremely disappointed that it is discontinued. It is my favorite coffee flavor and I don't drink anything else. I'm sad to see it go. I guess I can't recommend it to anyone.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GevaliaBy CSRMarch 18, 2014
Hello, Patty. Thank you for being a long-time customer. We too loved Mocha. Be assured it was not an easy decision to discontinue it. Our goal is to bring you the highest quality coffees and nothing less. Reducing our number of offerings will allow us to do just that. The good news is that our coffee experts worked hard to hand-pick alternatives we think you’ll love. This is a great chance to try something new! Just give us a call at 1-800-GEVALIA.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mocha
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Discontinued - Disappointed

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Chuck47
FromHuntsville, AL
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Other
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have been keeping my parents supplied with Mocha for years. Dad is gone now, but Mom still dearly loves her Mocha and enjoys entertaining her friends with it, especially those who have not tried it before. Words cannot express how disappointed I was to learn it has been discontinued. I was prepared to buy a couple dozen boxes and hold it for her, but you appear to be sold out. She was 88 in Dec 13 and will be so disappointed when her current supply runs out. I understand business and tough economic decisions, but this decision must certainly leave a legion of disappointed loyal customers in its wake.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GevaliaBy CSRMarch 10, 2014
Thank you for providing your feedback. Our goal is to always bring you the highest quality coffees and nothing less. Our beans come from all over the world and variations in crops year to year or high demand for certain beans can affect our ability to deliver the best coffee year after year. This was a factor in the decision to discontinue Mocha. If you need help with picking an alternative please call us at 1-800-GEVALIA. We would love to help you pick something new.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mocha
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Disappointed doesn't begin to describe...

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Jules13
FromDanville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk only
...how I felt when I found out Gevalia discontinued my all time favorite coffee. I have been ordering Gevalia's Mocha coffee for over 25 years. I tried the Dark Chocolate Tuffle coffee they suggested as a substitute but it was very bitter. I have cancelled my auto delivery but would be back in a flash if Gevalia brought back Mocha. Please Gevalia listen to the plea's of your loyal customers!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products I recomend
 
 
 
Response from GevaliaBy CSRMarch 3, 2014
Hello Jules, Thank you for being a long-time cusotmer. We’re sorry to hear you weren’t satisfied with the recommendation made by our master tasters. Because your loyalty is important to us we would love to have one of our coffee experts recommend alternatives we think you’ll love. It’s a great chance to try something new and if you’re not happy with a recommendation, we’ll gladly help you choose something else or give you a refund. Just give us a call at 1-800-GEVALIA.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mocha
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Good Chocolate Taste and smooth too

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Turbo460
FromWisconsin, USA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:1-3 years
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am very sorry to see the Mocha discontinued. A few months ago I thought about ordering more when I discovered that the Mocca Java was quite different but I still had most of it left plus also some of another flavor. I thought I'd finish them then order more of the mocha now I wish I had done so sooner. I am not sure what I will try now that the Mocha is not available. So wish you would reconsider discontinuing it. The Mocha coffee flavor it is the best Gevalia flavor I have tasted so far.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GevaliaBy CSRMarch 3, 2014
Our focus is to bring you the highest quality coffee possible and to do so; we must focus on sourcing only the best beans from around the world. We’re sorry about your disappointment and want to let you know it was not an easy decision to discontinue Mocha. Because your loyalty is important to us we would love to have one of our coffee experts recommend alternatives we think you’ll love. Please call us at 1-800-GEVALIA. We would love to help you pick another variety.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mocha
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

Totally Disappointed

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Customer avatar
InezM
FromNew Jersey, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I LOVE Mocha and so does my sister, who lives in Italy. I would periodically buy extra to send to her.
To be fair, I have yet to try this replacement coffee...and I'm hoping it will not be a poor replacement for my beloved Mocha. I realize, as a company, you have to make unpopular decisions... but why Mocha? I detest Hazelnut....discontinue that one instead.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GevaliaBy CSRFebruary 20, 2014
Hi, Inez. We are discontinuing Mocha because unfortunately there weren’t enough customers ordering it for us to continue producing it. We can assure you it was not an easy decision to discontinue Mocha as we loved the product as well. We suggest you try Dark Chocolate Truffle as it is similar to Mocha. If you need help with picking an alternative please call us at 1-800-GEVALIA. We would love to help you pick something new.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mocha
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Please reconsider discontinuing Mocha!

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Customer avatar
PAKfromJersey
FromChatham, NJ
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
I am an auto-delivery customer who had 138 coffee deliveries to date; that's a lot of mocha! I am very disappointed in this decision. Unfortunately I do not like the suggested replacement Dark Chocolate Truffle. Please reconsider this decision! I can see by the other reviews that I am not alone in my views.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GevaliaBy CSRFebruary 14, 2014
We’re sorry you weren’t happy with the recommended variety. We appreciate you being a long-time customer and do not want to lose you! This is a great chance to try other coffees you may be curious about and if you’re not happy with your selection, we’ll gladly help you choose a different variety or give you a refund. Just give us a call at 1-800-GEVALIA.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Gail17
Kutztown, PA
 
Please wait while more information about Gail17 is loaded.
Additional information about Gail17 could not be loaded.
No more MOCHA?
Posted April 13, 2014
I have been a Gevalia auto-delivery customer for 10-15 years. During that time the main reason I continued to participate was MOCHA - it's my ALL TIME FAVORITE COFFEE! It has such a rich, delicious flavor. For my last shipment I was sent Dark Chocolate Truffle as a replacement and it didn't come close! I think you should have notified your regular MOCHA customers to give us a chance to stock up. I'm sure we would have bought quite a bit. I have tried Starbucks mocha and it's not a good substitute. Please reconsider you decision to discontinue or at least make it available periodically and please notify me if you do.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 9 for Mocha
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.

Discontinued? Extremely unhappy!

PostedFebruary 1, 2014
Customer avatar
VAbirdwatcher
FromVirginia, USA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Other
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been ordering this coffee for over 10 years and it WAS one of my favorites. It wasn't until I opened our order delivery yesterday that I read the letter about the discontinuation. I find it hard to believe it was not selling well. Our box contained another coffee, Dark Chocolate Truffle. We weren't even given a choice of a substitute or any advance warning. I would have at least ordered more before the Mocha was all gone. This is a sad day.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from GevaliaBy CSRFebruary 12, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We’re sorry you weren’t happy with the recommended variety. We appreciate you being a long-time customer and do not want to lose you! This is a great chance to try other coffees you may be curious about and if you’re not happy with your selection, we’ll gladly help you choose a different variety or give you a refund. Just give us a call at 1-800-GEVALIA.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
CindyT2
Lufkin, Texas
 
Please wait while more information about CindyT2 is loaded.
Additional information about CindyT2 could not be loaded.
Posted April 1, 2014
Very disappointed in the discontinuation of MOCHA ! It has been a staple in our home for years and we have made many loyal followers...I cannot believe from these posts that this was not a brand item worth keeping...Even more disappointed in the canned response to every post !
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Peanut22
Ndew Hampshire
 
Please wait while more information about Peanut22 is loaded.
Additional information about Peanut22 could not be loaded.
No More Mocha??
Posted February 15, 2014
Just tried to order & discovered it was discontinued with no advance notice to us. We have been ordering it for over 15 years. Not interested in any other Gevalia coffees based on this total lack of concern for long time customers. Will explore other companies products.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)
Review 10 for Mocha
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

Extremely Disappointed you are Discontinuing MOCHA

PostedFebruary 1, 2014
Customer avatar
BruceVA
FromDumfries, VA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aroma 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My wife and I have been drinking Gevalia Mocha since 1995 and are EXTREMELY disappointed you are discontinuing our favorite coffee!!!! Waking up to this coffee on "Mocha Monday's" made waking up a treat! Please reconsider this most disheartening decision...
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GevaliaBy CSRFebruary 12, 2014
Hi, Bruce. We are discontinuing Mocha because unfortunately there weren’t enough customers ordering it for us to continue producing it. We can assure you it was not an easy decision to discontinue Mocha as we loved the product as well. We suggest you try Dark Chocolate Truffle Ground as it is similar to Mocha. If you need help with picking an alternative please call us at 1-800-GEVALIA. We would love to help you pick something new.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mocha
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

Unhappy about the discontinued offerings

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Customer avatar
EMSS
FromFailawn
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am also unhappy about the discontinued offering of this flavor. I have been a long time member and this plus the Irish Creme are my favorites!! :-(.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GevaliaBy CSRFebruary 10, 2014
We are discontinuing Mocha because unfortunately there weren’t enough customers ordering it for us to continue producing it. We can assure you it was not an easy decision to discontinue Mocha as we loved the product as well. We suggest you try Dark Chocolate Truffle Ground as it is similar to Mocha. If you need help with picking an alternative please call us at 1-800-GEVALIA. We would love to help you pick something new.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mocha
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

my favorite flavor

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Customer avatar
keytickler2003
FromCincinnati, OH
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
I am distressed that Mocha is being discontinued! It is our favorite flavor and I am now left without a coffee to order from Gevalia since it was the only one we had on our autoship! Please bring it back!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GevaliaBy CSRFebruary 10, 2014
We are discontinuing Mocha because unfortunately there weren’t enough customers ordering it for us to continue producing it. We can assure you it was not an easy decision to discontinue Mocha as we loved the product as well. We suggest you try Dark Chocolate Truffle Ground as it is similar to Mocha. If you need help with picking an alternative please call us at 1-800-GEVALIA. We would love to help you pick something new.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mocha
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

My favorite flavor!

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Customer avatar
songbird
FromCharlotte, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk only
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been an auto-customer for almost 20 years, and this is by far my favorite flavor - I have tried ALL of them! It is smooth, subtle, with a whisper of spice and chocolate. I lived in Vienna, and this reminds me of one of my favorite kaffeehaus flavors. Please bring it back to the regular rotation!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mocha
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Very smooth flavor, my favorite coffee

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Gary53
I have been drinking Gevalia Mocha for years, and it is my all time favorite coffee. Light chocolate flavor, but not sweet. I am disappointed to learn it is being discontinued. In fact, I wish it was offered in a K-cup version, but not the Mocha Latte with the cream additive. Just the mocha coffee. However, because of the change, I have discontinued my auto delivery.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GevaliaBy CSRFebruary 10, 2014
Thank you for being a long-time customer. We too love Mocha. Unfortunately we are discontinuing it because there aren’t enough customers ordering it for us to continue producing it. Other factors like variations in crops year to year or high demand for certain beans also impact our ability to deliver your favorite coffee year after year. We appreciate you and do not want to lose you! We hope you give our coffee experts the opportunity to help you select something new! Just give us a call at 1-800-Gevalia.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mocha
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Not so good.

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
MountainGirl1
FromOzarks
Age:I'd rather not say
Gender:I'd rather not say
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk only
Taste 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Aroma 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Uniqueness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
In a word...undrinkable. I made 1 pot and drank 1 cup. The remainder of the pot went down the sink and the remainder of the coffee went in the trash. Sorry, but in my opinion, this was awful.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mocha
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Great taste, hint of choclate, not to sweet

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Customer avatar
rgbeards
FromManchester, Ct
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Auto delivery customer for 20 years now. Love Mocha been ordering forever. Very smooth, rich flavor. No hint of raspberry taste as one reviewer said. I wouldn't repeat order if it did. Has slight hint of choclate taste. I also tried "Dark Choc. Truffle", way too sweet. Mocha perfect because you get smooth coffee taste
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mocha
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

Not quite mocha

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Lmroderick4
FromSeattle, WA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:1-3 years
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Taste 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aroma 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Uniqueness 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I received an email to review this coffee the same day I opened the box. I almost thought I could write the review before tasting it because I've been very impressed with Gevalia, but I'm glad I tasted it first. It's smooth and it is delicious, but has a raspberry hint to it. I initially noticed that the aroma was more raspberry almond. I had to check the box and the website to make sure I had the right flavor! Upon tasting it, I did notice the mocha flavor and not almond as I was expecting, but there was still a raspberry-ness that surprised me and disappointed me a little. Overall, a good coffee, but not what I had expected. I would much prefer the dark chocolate truffle flavor that Gevalia offers.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mocha
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

taste like cough syrup

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Customer avatar
pattycake915
Fromgrand rapids, mi
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:3-5 years
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I was SO excited for this coffee to come, but upon opening it I found a cherry cough syrup kind of scent and flavor. I waited for my next order to come, hoping it was a flukey batch, but the next was the same! Just got an email my next order is coming, and i forgot to switch it out, not very happy right now..........
No, I do not recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mocha
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Great Coffee

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Customer avatar
EPAL
FromCalifornia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
This is by far my favorite flavor from Gevalia. Great richness & flavor the aroma gets me going in the morning ~ love this coffee!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mocha
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.

Chocoholic

PostedFebruary 9, 2013
Customer avatar
mjpbooks
FromBoynton Beach, FL, USA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Taste 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aroma 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Uniqueness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This coffee does not have enough chocolate flavor or aroma. I sometimes add dark cocoa powder during the brewing but the powder tends to clump up. Wish there was more chocolate taste.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>