Customer reviews for Gevalia Karoma Estate

Gevalia Karoma Estate

Karoma Estate
Overall rating:
4.783 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
21 out of 22(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for Karoma Estate
Review 1 for Karoma Estate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Smooth & Rich

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Customer avatar
FromNew Mexico, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just Love this Coffee. It is my Favorite! Love the Smooth Rich taste & the Smell of it in the morning, makes me so happy!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Karoma Estate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Excellent all around coffee

PostedAugust 23, 2014
Customer avatar
FromIllinois
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love coffee from the Dominican Republic and this is especially on the top of the list. Tender, aromatic and no aftertaste. I wish I had ordered more.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Karoma Estate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

Excellent at all times

PostedAugust 1, 2014
Customer avatar
FromHolmdel, NJ, USA
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Other
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Karoma is my absolute favorite. I have tried just about all of your special selections and none is as good as Karoma. it is the perfect roast....not too dark and not too light. It is never bitter. It is good any time if day or evening, but i especially love it in the morning. the aroma is heavenly :) I am hoping you will not discontinue Karoma. I stock up on it when you have a promotional.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Karoma Estate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

Master Taster Recommendatons???

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Customer avatar
FromTexas
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk only
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Since this is being discontinued, how can your Master Tasters possibly recomment I try Toraja?? Have they really tasted both? Toraja is a dark roast! Karoma, which is medium roast, does not have Dark Roast characteristics, that I can find, AT ALL!
I am sad that you are discontinuing my favorite Karoma Estate coffee. I will probably stay with you guys a bit longer, but you keep discontinuing my favorites, or change roasts on me. I originallly loved Mohring and swtiched to pea berry and now Karoma. I will try Columbia. But if you discontinue it, I am going to close my account an just have to go buy from a roaster. I don't want to. Believe me. I can't pay your prices plus shipping for everyday quality grocery store quality coffees. Please listen to us.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Anonnie
Texas
 
Please wait while more information about Anonnie is loaded.
Additional information about Anonnie could not be loaded.
Think about it
Posted August 15, 2014
Switching to grocery markets. Keeping only those with broad appeal, special bean coffees at price appeal to a much limited consumer. Obviously they are having trouble. Its either this, or they will fold completely. Reorganization is imperative. Perhaps eventually they will be in a position to expand back into these markets. Honestly, this is just common sense.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
UNHAPPY1
Western NY
 
Please wait while more information about UNHAPPY1 is loaded.
Additional information about UNHAPPY1 could not be loaded.
Well Said.
Posted August 1, 2014
I too believe that the masters are only doing what corporate says and that they are most certainly running out of choices that are akin to the brands being discontinued...no way do they have enough coffees to please the diversity of their customer base. I'm sure that Gevalia has already lost many a customer due to this corporate tact. Obviously, there is a coffee bean problem but that can't be what is driving this dumbed down version of Gevalia's heritage. I've lost 2 of my 3 favorites and the 3rd is also scheduled for discontinuance.
I heartily endorse your point of view.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)
Review 5 for Karoma Estate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Fabulous

PostedJuly 12, 2014
Customer avatar
FromRaleigh, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
Very smooth, with an interesting taste that reminds me of roasted cashews. I love this coffee. I've tried many by Gevalia, and after reading the reviews for this one, I decided to give it a try. It costs a little more than the others, but it's worth it. I am so disappointed that it's being discontinued! As a side note, I had it in my mug at work. The lid was off, so the aroma was able to escape. When I walked over to my colleague's cubicle, she said, "WHAT is that? It smells INSANE!" I told her that it tastes as insane as it smells, and wrote the name down on a post-it note so that she can order it! I didn't even have anything added to it - I drink it black - the aroma is just wonderful.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Karoma Estate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Dont discontinue this flavor

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Customer avatar
FromFlorida, USA
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:1-3 years
Take Gevalia:With milk only
Please don't discontinue this...It's my favorite, especially in decaf...Really sad right now..
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GevaliaBy CSRJuly 14, 2014
Our focus is to bring you the highest quality coffee possible and to do so; we must focus on sourcing only the best beans from around the world. We’re sorry about your disappointment and want to let you know it was not an easy decision to discontinue Karoma Estate. Because your loyalty is important to us we would love to have one of our coffee experts recommend alternatives we think you’ll love. Please call us at 1-800-GEVALIA. We would love to help you pick another variety.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Karoma Estate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

This is a great coffee.

PostedApril 13, 2014
Customer avatar
FromElkhart, IN, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:3-5 years
Take Gevalia:Other
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of my very favorite coffees. Sorry to see it is being discontinued.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Karoma Estate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Tasty, Full-Bodied, Delicious

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Customer avatar
FromTexas
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
I tried this on a whim (I believe Gevalia sent it to me to try), but now I am hooked. This coffee is now neck-and-neck with my other favorite, Mocca Java. It's a bit pricey, but well worth it. Flavor is strong, but not bitter. My favorite kind of coffee. Satisfying, a real pleasure to drink.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Karoma Estate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Flowery undertones, wine aftertaste

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Customer avatar
FromTexas, USA
Age:I'd rather not say
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Other
I have tried every variety of the Estate coffees. I like the pure taste of just the bean for my coffee. (the only exception being Blueberry Creme, alas).Of the Estate Coffees only two are almost neck in neck, but this one, this one has the edge for top place. It has the complexity that so many use to describe their coffees in other places than Gevalia, and this one delivers all that Gevalia states and far more. The top notes are floral and linger for a few moments, but the bottom and residual note is like that of a fine wine. I dearly wish not to recommend it as it is an extremely limited production, but I must. It is utterly delicious.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Karoma Estate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

Reminds me of Dessert in Germany

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Customer avatar
FromTexas, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk only
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I don't usually write reviews. But, I am making an exception on this coffee. I have tried many coffees over the years, and although I think the regular Gevalia lines are not as good as they used to be. This is the coffee offering that has kept me on the autoship list. I have been buying from Gevalia since the early 80's, and like a rich coffee with a very smooth finish. This is, by far, my favorite offering from Gevalia. It reminds me of when I lived in Germany and we used a hand grinder to grind our beans for dessert with our special friends. This coffee is great for drinking any time of day, when you want a rich smooth cup of coffee. It always begs me for another cup!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Karoma Estate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Rich, sweet notes mark this a must-try coffee.

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Customer avatar
FromMichigan, USA
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:Within last year
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sweet coffee aroma with mild caramel notes, nicely roasted flavor, pleasing, low-acidic finish.
Rich, sweet notes mark this a must-try coffee.
My Special Reserves (Limited Edition) favorites in order of personal preference:
Mbeya Reserve
Karoma Estate
Toraja
Colibri Azul
Papua New Guinea
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products I recomend
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Karoma Estate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Karoma Estate

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Customer avatar
FromLouisville, KY, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
ALL the Special Edition coffees are superb. Karoma Estate is one of the best I ever had.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Karoma Estate
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

Weak body, sharp acidic tones.

PostedAugust 25, 2013
Customer avatar
FromCalifornia, USA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Taste 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Aroma 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Uniqueness 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Typically, I enjoy a medium roast, full body, low/no acidity, and a smooth finish coffee (my favorite in the US is Caribou Coffee brand). Unfortunately, my taste buds didn’t like any Gevalia coffee beans I had bought. Karoma Estate tasted very week (per Gevalia’s instructions I used more coffee per each cup of water) and it had a sharp acidic finish. After reading many positive reviews here, I wanted to like Gevalia coffee. Unfortunately, this one was the worst of the four I purchased on this website.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Karoma Estate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Wonderful taste and aroma

PostedAugust 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Fromrural Idaho
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coffee is great any time of day. It is bold,and a bit sweet, which is what I love.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Karoma Estate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Wanted something I hadn't tried before and went with Karoma. Big mistake . . . now I'm HOOKED!

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Karoma may be the absolute best coffee I've ever tasted - and that covers a LOT of ground. It even beats out my treasured Jamaican Blue Mountain. The aroma is divine, and the taste is perfect. Bold enough, but not biting. Complex flavors caress the palate. I'm going to have to be ordering more of this - and soon. Delicious!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Karoma Estate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.

MELLOW TASTE BUT FABULOUS

PostedApril 27, 2013
Customer avatar
FromYacolt, WA 98675, USA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:3-5 years
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HAVE BEEN DRINKING THE BREAKFAST BLEND BUT IT DOES NOT EVEN COMPARE TO KAROMA ESTATE...HARD TO EXPLAIN THE TASTE BUT THE AROMA IS SMOOTH AND THE COFFEE IS SWEET!!!!!!!!!!!!!SO HARD TO GO BACK TO MY BREAKFAST BLEND MIGHT COST MORE BUT IT IS WORTH IT!!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Karoma Estate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

Impressive

PostedApril 24, 2013
Customer avatar
FromIowa
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Uniqueness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Karoma Estate is an excellent dessert coffee. The aroma and flavor are amazing and will enhance the enjoyment of whatever sweet finish you serve your guests. After dessert they will want Karoma Estate refills. Very smooth and relaxing.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Karoma Estate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.

My new fave

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Customer avatar
FromSan Gabriel, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:1-3 years
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my first time to order this variant of coffee and to my amaze - I fell in love with its smooth taste, no trace of bitterness. I can drink 5 cups of it in a day, thank goodness I ordered the decaf. My 15 y/o teener wants to taste her first cup of coffee, with this very good taste - I served her one and now she wanted more but that's it for her, let me indulge myself with this new found love.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Karoma Estate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

Delightful cup

PostedSeptember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
FromOhio, USA
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:Within last year
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coffee is unique and so worth the price. Grocery store coffees don't even come close! I brew this one with 2 level Tbsp per 10-oz mug and add 2 packets of Splenda sweetner and a generous splash of half-and-half.
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products I recomend
 
Costa Rica Peaberry®
4.8 out of 5(39)
 
 
 
 
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Karoma Estate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Fantastic coffee

PostedSeptember 17, 2012
Customer avatar
FromTexas
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Other
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This coffee is so smooth. The flavor is wonderful and there is very little acidity or bitterness. When I have visitors over, I ALWAYS get compliments on this coffee. They all want to know what kind it is and where I got it. I love all of the Gevalia coffees I've tried, but this is easily my favorite. It is a little more expensive than some of the other types of Gevalia coffees, but well worth it! I highly recommed it to anyone that is planning to try Gevalia for the first time. It really is a wonderful representation of the company.
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products I recomend
 
Signature Blend
4.2 out of 5(19)
 
 
 
Breakfast Blend
4.5 out of 5(64)
 
 
 
 
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>