Customer reviews for Gevalia 1853 Heritage Blend

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Gevalia.

Gevalia 1853 Heritage Blend

1853 Heritage Blend
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
9 out of 13(69%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for 1853 Heritage Blend
Review 1 for 1853 Heritage Blend
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Weak sour taste

PostedOctober 3, 2013
Customer avatar
SunnyBlueSkyDay
FromWisconsin, USA
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Aroma 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Uniqueness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Unfortunately the only thing strong about 1853 Heritage Coffee is it's sour taste beginning to end. There is a lacks of depth in the flavor too. I was shocked, as other Gevalia Coffee I have had was quite tasty. Sticking with Costa Rica Peaberry and Traditional Roast.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Review 2 for 1853 Heritage Blend
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Perfect for guests

PostedApril 30, 2013
Customer avatar
IFortuna
FromTexas
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When you are not sure what to serve your guests this is the roast to use. It is a medium roast and it is delicious morning, noon and evening. We had out of town guests and they felt very honored that we would serve them Gevalia. They are family who thought we already had gone to too much trouble. Gevalia is the icing on the cake. This coffee will really make your guests feel welcome.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Review 3 for 1853 Heritage Blend
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

something exceptional to wake up to

PostedApril 24, 2013
Customer avatar
healthycook
FromBrooklyn, NY, USA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Other
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
At first I was reluctant to purchase this coffee because it was a little more expensive than the flavored coffees I was accustomed to buying. I am soooooo glad I made the investment! The aroma from brewing this coffee permeates my whole house. Now I put the coffee pot on automatic timer and wake up to the coffee as it is being made.The pot is ready for me when I get to the kitchen! The flavor rolls over my taste buds and it makes every morning sensational. I highly recommend this coffee to anyone who would truly enjoy savoring their morning cup of coffee and starting the day right.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Review 4 for 1853 Heritage Blend
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

The "mother of pearl's" coffee!

PostedApril 24, 2013
Customer avatar
sende
FromFayetteville, NC, USA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:3-5 years
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A true coffee lover's delight. You don't taste it, you experience it! Very reasonably priced and a definite must have on my auto shipping list. Thanks Gevalia a king would be truly impressed by its royal flavor.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Review 5 for 1853 Heritage Blend
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.

Just average

PostedMarch 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Jazzmin
FromHouston, TX, USA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk only
Taste 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aroma 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Uniqueness 
3 / 5
3 / 5
There was nothing special about this coffee. There are too many Gevalia blends to be enjoyed, to waste your time on mediocre tasting coffee.
No, I do not recommend this product.
 
Products I recomend
 
Review 6 for 1853 Heritage Blend
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.

bad coffee

PostedNovember 18, 2012
Customer avatar
brn329
Taste 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Aroma 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Uniqueness 
2 / 5
2 / 5
very tangy, weak, bad tasting coffee. i cannot believe people like this coffee.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Review 7 for 1853 Heritage Blend
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.

Great Coffee

PostedMarch 16, 2012
Customer avatar
jaymac1500
FromTexas
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm working my way through a package of 1853 and it's truly wonderful. In fact I was hoping it came as a whole bean for my French Press. Wonderful aroma when I opened the package, fabulous mellow taste. I don't like to ruin my coffee w/ any sugar or milk. Highly recommend it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Review 8 for 1853 Heritage Blend
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.

I bought this only because reviwes were so high

PostedFebruary 26, 2012
Customer avatar
george
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:3-5 years
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Taste 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aroma 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Uniqueness 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I thought that with this being a bit more expensive, and with 5 great reviews that it would be great! So much for that idea. Frankly, if it were a conversation with an author, it would insipid and disappointing. It costs more than many, and actually delivers less. I compared one pot to Folgers and the Folgers, as poor as that is, has more to offer. I finally mixed them together so I could get rid of both over time..... stuff Like Folgers and this could actually cure me of coffee over time. Tooooo much money for too little real coffee flavor and satisfaction. Not bad... just not good either.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Review 9 for 1853 Heritage Blend
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.

The best coffee ever!!!

PostedFebruary 24, 2012
Customer avatar
SECILLL
FromPLANT CITY,FL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk only
If you are a regular coffee drinker and did not try this one you are missing out of an awesome tasting and smelling coffee:))
Yes, I recommend this product.
Review 10 for 1853 Heritage Blend
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.

Excellent Finish

PostedFebruary 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Thina007
FromNortheast Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Afternoon
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk only
This is a wonderful addition to your repertoire of coffees. Rich color, good body and low acid makes for a very satisfying cup of coffee. I actually stop and enjoy each sip I take. I'd seriously consider making this your yearly Chrismas coffee over Royal Vinter...what a treat. I, too, will also miss this when it's gone.
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products I recomend
Costa Rica Peaberry®
4.8 out of 5(39)
 
 
 
Stockholm Roast
4.8 out of 5(38)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Review 11 for 1853 Heritage Blend
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.

Better if less used

PostedFebruary 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Aman4allseasons
FromWestport, WA 98595, USA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:Within last year
Take Gevalia:With milk only
I use about half of much (ground) coffee that Gevalia recommends in a drip coffee maker. My large coffee mug is the equivalent of of 3 cups (or about 14 oz) according to the water level indicator on my machine.
When I used 2 heaping spoon fulls on a Gevalia metal spoon the coffee was way to strong and to bitter; even using half & half to dilute. The next attempt a few hours later using one level spoonful resulted in a better brew but just a tad on the weak side and no bitter after taste
If you find the correct grinds to water ratio than this is an excellent coffee.
Note: Gevalia recommends storing your coffee in a refrigerator or freezer if not used up in 2-3 weeks
Yes, I recommend this product.
Review 12 for 1853 Heritage Blend
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.

One of the best coffees I have ever had!

PostedNovember 11, 2011
Customer avatar
Lisa
FromFlorida
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
You'll be so sad when you run out of this... It's literally the best coffee I have ever tasted up to this point in my life! Smooth and tasty - it's like drinking a big warm hug. Yep I know how corny that sounds but I love this stuff that much. If you are after a wonderful cup of coffee then try this it doesn't dissapoint! (If you are the type of person who just wants coffee so strong you can chew it, then this isn't the best coffee for you.)
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products I recomend
 
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
ruthschi
orange cty california
 
Please wait while more information about ruthschi is loaded.
Additional information about ruthschi could not be loaded.
i love gevalia coffe
Posted January 27, 2012
it is a world class coffee and we all enjoy it
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 13 for 1853 Heritage Blend
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.

1853

PostedNovember 4, 2011
Customer avatar
fwilsonmd
FromForest Hill, Martyland
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
I love this coffee. It's a flavorful, smooth cup of coffee. I have made this for an after dinner coffee and no one was disappointed. It's great for anytime of day whether you have the caffeinated or the decaf. Enjoy!
Yes, I recommend this product.