Customer reviews for Gevalia Velvet Noir

Gevalia Velvet Noir

Velvet Noir
Overall rating:
4.585 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(41 reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 41 reviews
5 Stars
34
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
36 out of 40(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer reviews for Velvet Noir
Review 1 for Velvet Noir
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Exceptional coffee!

PostedApril 12, 2014
Customer avatar
GIM13
FromMinnesota, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk only
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Velvet Noir produces wonderfully flavorful, rich coffee that isn't bitter, with a beautiful aroma. This became our favorite, and we're very disappointed it's being discontinued.
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products I recomend
 
 
Response from GevaliaBy CSRApril 15, 2014
We too loved Raspberry Danish Regular Ground. Be assured it was not an easy decision to discontinue it. Our goal is to bring you the highest quality coffees and nothing less. Reducing our number of offerings will allow us to do just that. The good news is that our coffee experts worked hard to hand-pick alternatives we think you’ll love. This is a great chance to try something new! Just give us a call at 1-800-GEVALIA.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Velvet Noir
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

this coffee had great taste

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Customer avatar
quilter1970
Fromakron, ohio
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Other
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
too bad this coffee is being discontinued it was a great cup of coffee, nice flavor not to strong
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GevaliaBy CSRFebruary 17, 2014
We too loved Velvet Noir. Be assured it was not an easy decision to discontinue it. Our goal is to bring you the highest quality coffees and nothing less. Reducing our number of offerings will allow us to do just that. The good news is that our coffee experts worked hard to hand-pick alternatives we think you’ll love. This is a great chance to try other something new! Just give us a call at 1-800-Gevalia.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Velvet Noir
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

This coffee tastes burned

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Kwillis4856
FromTulsa, OK, USA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:3-5 years
Take Gevalia:With milk only
Taste 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Aroma 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Uniqueness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This was substituted for a good coffee that was discontinued without contacting me and it was the worst coffee ever! Too dark, smells and tastes burned.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from GevaliaBy CSRFebruary 10, 2014
We’re sorry to hear you weren’t satisfied with the recommendation made by our master tasters. Because your loyalty is important to us we would love to have one of our coffee experts recommend alternatives we think you’ll love. It’s a great chance to try something new and if you’re not happy with a recommendation, we’ll gladly help you choose something else or give you a refund. Just give us a call at 1-800-GEVALIA.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Velvet Noir
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

The best coffee we have had in a long time.

PostedDecember 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Phyllis60
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered this coffee on a whim thinking the name was intriging and 1 box wouldn't hurt if we didn't like it. Well, we love it . My daughter and her husband said that was the best coffee they had had in a long time. We truly hope it is never discontinued. Everyone we serve it to just love it.
Phyllis B.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Velvet Noir
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

perfect

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
angelstarbow
FromSouth Carolina, USA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:Within last year
Take Gevalia:Other
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the best coffee ive ever had. Its very smooth and not bitter at all. I love it! I'm hooked. The powdered appearance kinda shocked me, but it is heavenly!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Velvet Noir
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

Unique, but not my favorite.

PostedSeptember 9, 2013
Customer avatar
jcooke71188
FromGrand Rapids, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:Within last year
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Another solid product from Gevalia. If don't like a dark roast then I totally recommend this dark roast. It is dark but not bitter. I found out that I actually do like bitterness in my dark roast so I may not order this again but my wife who doesn't usually like a dark roast loved it. So give it a try.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Velvet Noir
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.

Disappointed And confused

PostedJune 27, 2013
Customer avatar
FancyCoffeeMann
FromSouth Carolina
Taste 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aroma 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Uniqueness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I'm still new to trying different flavors of coffee, but when drinking dark bold flavors I expect great and unique flavors this brand had nothing special to bring to the table. I will finish the bag that I have, but I would not recommend this flavor.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Velvet Noir
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.

Our men's favorite coffee

PostedJune 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Alexanders
FromTexas, USA
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this for my husband for Valentine's Day and it is his favorite Gevalia so far. A smooth, bold flavor. We will definitely get this one again.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Velvet Noir
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

Rich and Smooth

PostedMay 31, 2013
Customer avatar
Diane52
FromRockford, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With sugar only
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The first time I bought this coffee, I did so based on the site's description. I am often in the mood for a cup of good dark coffee, but the one drawback is that they can sometimes be bitter. Not so with this one. It's become one of my favorites, and, I always try to keep a box in my cupboard.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Velvet Noir
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.

Exquisite aroma and taste!

PostedApril 28, 2013
Customer avatar
dwk138
FromHouston, TX, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When I first opened Velvet Noir, I thought my wife would think it was too strong. She equates boldness of flavor with strength. Much to my surprise, when I made the coffee, she said "This is what coffee tastes like in the finest of restaurants. You should take some of this to K****'s to tell them what good coffee really is." A bold flavor and aroma, yet deliciously smooth, Velvet Noir is now our top favorite. My idea of the "perfect coffee!"
I also recommend Traditional, Dark Roast, Espresso Roast, Pecan Torte and Royal Vinter. Great tastes with choice.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Velvet Noir
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

This blend is rich and smooth. My favorite !

PostedApril 25, 2013
Customer avatar
littlered
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk only
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Drinking this blend is almost like enjoying dark chocolate. I put half and half in the cup also. Excellent taste, aroma, finish.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Velvet Noir
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

One of the smoothest dark roasts ever!

PostedApril 24, 2013
Customer avatar
NickTX
FromHouston, TX, USA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk only
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
If you like dark roast flavor, but do not want the often bitter undertones or aftertaste, this is the right choice. Hands down the best dark roast I have ever had. The flavor is reminiscent of true Greek coffee, without the overwhelming gritty aftertaste or extreme sweetness. Awesome!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Velvet Noir
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

Smooth and tasty

PostedApril 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Svenska
FromGrafton, OH, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Other
Very smooth coffee, great flavor and full body. I've tried both whole bean and ground. Same results with both.
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products I recomend
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Velvet Noir
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Lives up to the name

PostedApril 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Crystle
FromSlippery Rock, PA 16057, USA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:3-5 years
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I generally do not like dark roasted coffee... in fact Gevalia is the only brand who has dark roasts that I will drink.
When Velvet Noir came out, I immediately bought a box because it was the brand new, fan named flavor and I wanted to know if it lived up to it's new name. It so totally does. This is the smoothest dark coffee I have ever had, and just the smell of it when opened is pure heaven. I highly recommend giving it a try.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Velvet Noir
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

What a delightful cuppa!

PostedMarch 28, 2013
Customer avatar
yaninni
FromGrove, OK
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coffee tastes like its name. It is velvety smooth and lovely in all ways. Our current favorite!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Velvet Noir
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

A new find for me and now a new favorite!

PostedMarch 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Babetta
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was looking for something stronger that mixes great with chocolate, this coffee really is smooth yet strong enough to mix with chocolate and both flavors come through & balance nicely.
This has become a new regular purchase for me.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Velvet Noir
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Nothing fancy here

PostedMarch 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Jazzmin
FromHouston, TX, USA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk only
Taste 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aroma 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Uniqueness 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I rate this coffee as a 2, on a 1-5 scale. I found the coffee on the bitter acid side. I'm also not a fan of dark roast, so that could be the reason. Adding my normal half and half didn't improve it.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Velvet Noir
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

I love this coffee!

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Darla
FromYoungstown, OH, USA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
This is a really great coffee. I some times mix it 50/50 with decaf, and it still holds that rich, full flavor that I enjoy.
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products I recomend
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Velvet Noir
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

my favorite, too!

PostedFebruary 13, 2013
Customer avatar
2sue
FromUnited States of America
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rich, pampering taste at a great price. I use no other
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Velvet Noir
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

This one is special.

PostedNovember 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Rhon007
FromHot Springs, AR, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Special occasions
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I had almost completely stopped buying Gelvalia coffee's; it was just too expensive for my taste:) But then I found this little gem among all the others and can't seem to resist it!
I try to keep a little around for those days when I need to feel pampered and have something a little special:)
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>