Customer reviews for Gevalia French Roast

Gevalia French Roast

French Roast
Overall rating:
4.679 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 28 reviews
5 Stars
25
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
26 out of 28(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for French Roast
Review 1 for French Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.

My ONLY daily cup of coffee!

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Customer avatar
HankW
FromNorristown, PA, USA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For years, my daily coffee has been Gevalia French Roast. From the addictive aroma when first opening a fresh package to the aroma as it brews, followed by the smooth, rich taste without a hint of bitterness, even when made strong the way I prefer, it is always the highlight of the day! I always make my "brew" in a 4-cup, cone-shaped drip coffee maker, which concentrates the water over the grounds during brewing, using Gevalia's cone filters. My recipe: 3 cups of filtered water (using the coffee maker's water measure) and 4 level scoops of French Roast, using Gevalia's measuring scoop. The result fills a 20-oz.ceramic cup with brewed perfection, full-bodied and robust, without a hint of bitterness! I keep the cup on a cup warmer and savor the coffee at my leisure. Brew it up and enjoy!
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products I recomend
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Nic123
 
Please wait while more information about Nic123 is loaded.
Additional information about Nic123 could not be loaded.
5 star
Posted November 29, 2013
We tried several varieties and have settled on whole bean French roasted. We have been using it for about a year - making it in a Melitta coffee maker and am now using a Keurig with equally great results!!
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
mppaul2
United States
 
Please wait while more information about mppaul2 is loaded.
Additional information about mppaul2 could not be loaded.
Excellent coffee
Posted June 28, 2013
Love this coffee.. 4 scoops using the gevalia scoop and 36 oz of filtered water, hazelnut creamer and sugar. Best 4 cups (though I only get to drink 2) you can imagine
+2points
2of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)
Review 2 for French Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Sad discontinuation

PostedApril 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Mikesbecky
FromSundance, WY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I'm uncertain as to why Gevalia would discontinue this roast. My husband and I have had French Roast auto delivered for over ten years and have yet to find a decent substitute. Guess we will have to find one now!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GevaliaBy CSRApril 24, 2014
Hello, Becky. Thank you for being a long-time customer and providing us with your feedback. Our focus is to bring you the highest quality coffee possible and to do so; we must focus on sourcing only the best beans from around the world. We’re sorry about your disappointment and want to let you know it was not an easy decision to discontinue French Roast. Because your loyalty is important to us we would love to have one of our coffee experts recommend alternatives we think you’ll love. Please call us at 1-800-GEVALIA. We would love to help you pick another variety.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for French Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Subtle Flavor!

PostedApril 2, 2014
Customer avatar
ElChuco1
FromEl Paso, TX, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:Within last year
Take Gevalia:With milk only
I like French roast mixed with French vanilla creamer. The coffee does stand out even with the creamer. Nice bold flavor.
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products I recomend
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for French Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

My favorite coffee!

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Customer avatar
bunnmaker
FromMN
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been drinking Gevalia French Roast coffee for many years. At first I would save it and drink it only on weekends. Soon I was drinking it every day! I mix regular with decaffeinated in equal parts so I don't get too much caffeine. I am sorry to see the decaffeinated being discontinued.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GevaliaBy CSRMarch 24, 2014
Thank you for being a long-time customer. Our focus is to bring you the highest quality coffee possible and to do so; we must focus on sourcing only the best beans from around the world. We’re sorry about your disappointment and want to let you know it was not an easy decision to discontinue French Roast Decaf. Because your loyalty is important to us we would love to have one of our coffee experts recommend alternatives we think you’ll love. Please call us at 1-800-GEVALIA. We would love to help you pick another variety. French Roast Decaf will be available for one-time orders only, while supplies last.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for French Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

Very Good!

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Customer avatar
jamm1274
FromGeorgia, USA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Length of use:1-3 years
Take Gevalia:Other
I bought the French Roast DECAF. Ii was looking for a decaf coffee that I can have in the evening. I only drink strong dark roast coffees and this one was really good. I find it difficult to find good decafs, but this one was perfect. I bought another one! Too bad it's being discontinued.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GevaliaBy CSRFebruary 12, 2014
We too loved French Roast Decaf. Be assured it was not an easy decision to discontinue it. Our goal is to bring you the highest quality coffees and nothing less. Reducing our number of offerings will allow us to do just that. The good news is that our coffee experts worked hard to hand-pick alternatives we think you’ll love. This is a great chance to try something new! Just give us a call at 1-800-GEVALIA.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for French Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

WHY ARE YOU DISCONTINUING?

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Customer avatar
TimW
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:1-3 years
Take Gevalia:With milk only
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Having tried over 30 different varieties of coffee I finally tasted the French Roast whole bean coffee. In my opinion it is the best coffee in the world and I am always asked by guests the brand of coffee when they try it.
Why on earth would you discontinue this???? PLEASE RECONSIDER!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GevaliaBy CSRFebruary 10, 2014
Our focus is to bring you the highest quality coffee possible and to do so; we must focus on sourcing only the best beans from around the world. We’re sorry about your disappointment and want to let you know it was not an easy decision to discontinue French Roast Whole Bean. Because your loyalty is important to us we would love to have one of our coffee experts recommend alternatives we think you’ll love. Please call us at 1-800-GEVALIA. We would love to help you pick another variety!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for French Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

One of my favorite coffees

PostedOctober 26, 2013
Customer avatar
manydoglady
FromFlorida
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
Very nice, smooth dark roast, one of my favorites of any coffee. I only drink French roast, except for a certain espresso I use in my espresso machine, and I've tried so many I couldn't list them all. This one is excellent in my French press, and because it's sealed as it is in 8 oz. packages, I have Gevalia grind it for me. It's a treat.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for French Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

Full Bodied Perfection!

PostedOctober 11, 2013
Customer avatar
BJKlose
FromBatavia, OH 45103, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For those of us who love everything about Coffee, Gevalia French Roast has it all ...Rich taste, Rich Aroma, a very easy sipping blend with an invisibly low acidic value. I find it hard to start my day without it ... Thank you, Gevalia ... = )
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
kimmy
warwick,ny 10990
 
Please wait while more information about kimmy is loaded.
Additional information about kimmy could not be loaded.
Posted October 18, 2013
I found the Gevalia Coffee to be one of my top three Coffees that I tested. The flavor was excellent and fresh.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 9 for French Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

French Roast

PostedOctober 5, 2013
Customer avatar
LEICKLEY
FromErie, PA, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:3-5 years
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gevalia's French Roast coffee is my favorite coffee to wake up to in the morning. It is smooth, flavorful and helps me become alert. Of all the coffees for any flavor, Gevalia has the best coffee, but their French Roast is my favorite!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
kimmy
warwick,ny 10990
 
Please wait while more information about kimmy is loaded.
Additional information about kimmy could not be loaded.
Posted October 18, 2013
I found Gelvalia Coffee to be the best tasting coffee yet. It was very fresh and tasty.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 10 for French Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

Always Come Back

PostedOctober 3, 2013
Customer avatar
loripori
FromTallahassee, FL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Other
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We have been ordering this coffee from Gevalia for years, but let's face it, it's not the cheapest stuff in the world. With economic strains surfacing from time-to-time, we've tried weaning ourselves off and drinking other brands. However, we can't. We always come back to Gevalia and the French Roast. We love a full-bodied cup of coffee, and the house smells wonderful when we wake and know our pot of freshly brewed French Roast awaits us. Cut back somewhere else. Order this coffee. It's a treat which will start your day off right every day, day after day. Worth every cent!
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products I recomend
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for French Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

Excellent coffee

PostedJune 28, 2013
Customer avatar
mppaul2
FromUnited States
Love this brew...left my Kuerig because it taste better in my drip coffee maker. Do not think I will stray.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for French Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

very Low acidity.. for Me*, Great!

PostedJune 24, 2013
Customer avatar
John056
FromTN
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Besides being a very flavcorful coffee, it has, to Me, a very low acidity level, drastically cutting down on the stomach 'burn' sometimes felt after 4-5 cups. As far as I'm concerned, Highly recommended*.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for French Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

The best taste..

PostedJune 12, 2013
Customer avatar
CupaJo
FromKnoxville, TN, USA
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We have a Bunn coffeemaker, and have always used Seattle's Best, French Roast. Well, I bought Gevalia's, French Roast, and what a difference. There's such a rich, different, wholesome, taste in the Gevalia, I just couldn't believe it. It's edible, not just drinkable. Love this coffee!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for French Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.

Amazing, delicious, aromatic decaf!

PostedJune 3, 2013
Customer avatar
cafeinesensitive
Fromwisconsin
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:Within last year
Take Gevalia:Other
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It is not easy to find a decaf that tastes like the real deal, but this french roast is the best I have found. I am very sensitive to caffeine and many decaf's are still loaded with it. Lovecthis bold dark roast and my bladder thanks you!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for French Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.

The Best Coffee Out There

PostedMay 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Taylor
FromButler, PA
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:Within last year
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Recently having bought a French Press, I tried this coffee and was amazed. Nothing I have had can compare to the taste of Gevalia French Roast, and I suspect that fact will stay true, at least for me.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for French Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

The most flavorful decaf ever!

PostedMay 7, 2013
Customer avatar
JKiddo
FromLos Angeles, CA, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:3-5 years
Take Gevalia:Black
This is the best coffee in the world! My husband and I use French Roast, both with and without caffeine. The decaf is truly low in caffeine content and tastes great.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for French Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.

Bold and tasty

PostedApril 24, 2013
Customer avatar
kronik
FromOrlando, FL, USA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk only
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This coffee is one of my favorite. It has a nice bold strong flavor, low acidity! Even great in decaf!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for French Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.

Great bold flavor without the acid

PostedFebruary 10, 2013
Customer avatar
psychpandamanda
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Uniqueness 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I love a strong cup of coffee but I do not love the acidity that comes with most strong coffees. This coffee gives me the strong bold flavor without the bitterness. All I need is one small packet of sugar and small serving of creamer and its perfect. I like that it is not a flavored coffee so I can add whatever flavored creamer I want and it just absorbs the flavor. It's great anytime of day although I drink it when I first wake up. I love this coffee and I'm glad I decided to try it on a whim while branching out from the flavored coffees that Gevalia offers (which are also great).
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for French Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.

Aroma therapy....... : }

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Customer avatar
OpticaLady
FromFort Collins, CO, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:Within last year
Take Gevalia:Other
Gevalia French Roast early in the morning, in the afternoon and in the evening. It's all I will drink and I've gotten my husband and best friend hooked on it too!
(must the Swede in me!)
I love my house filled with the aroma of French Roast and the flavor is smooth, not bitter like other dark coffees I've tried over the years. It just tastes GOOD!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for French Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.

Fabulous Taste!!

PostedOctober 4, 2012
Customer avatar
sheri1968
FromAtlanta, GA, USA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:Within last year
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We are just waiting for the K-Cups!! We put this is our own
K-Cup filter every morning, we LOVE this coffee <3
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>