Customer reviews for Gevalia Jamaica Blue Mountain

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Gevalia.

Gevalia Jamaica Blue Mountain

Jamaica Blue Mountain
Overall rating:
3.947 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
4
1 Star
0
12 out of 19(63%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Jamaica Blue Mountain
Review 1 for Jamaica Blue Mountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Hearty and unique

PostedMay 7, 2014
Customer avatar
FromAvella, PA 15312, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Other
This is excellent coffee that I enjoy occasionally when it is on sale.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Review 2 for Jamaica Blue Mountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

I am impressed!

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Customer avatar
FromCharleston, WV
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk only
I've been curious about Blue Mountain for many years and decided to finally treat myself and I'm glad I did. I have been a coffeeholic for years and I have to say that this is one of the best coffees I've ever experienced. Smooth, acidity is low enough that it doesn't bother my acid reflux, and the floral and citrusy undertones are just right. I even noticed a slight hint of vanilla. Flavor is light, but mellow. Great coffee to wake up to!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Review 3 for Jamaica Blue Mountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Great coffee.

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am a loyal customer and have been for years. I have even converted others to your fine coffees. CHEERS to the BEST coffee in the world.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Review 4 for Jamaica Blue Mountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

I have drank this coffee for many years!!

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Customer avatar
FromMinnesota
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the best coffee I have tasted and have drank it for many years. I like the taste and aroma and that I do not need to add sugar or cream as I do to other coffees that are most times bitter. I normally order it when on special, but if I am out, I order it anyway. I too think the price is a little high, but to quote a cliché, I am worth it!!.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
SCOOTER
WARREN,OHIO
 
Please wait while more information about SCOOTER is loaded.
Additional information about SCOOTER could not be loaded.
Posted February 1, 2014
I HAVE A QUESTION....I HAVE USED YOUR COFFEE ALONG WITH THE COFFEE MAKER FOR MANY YEARS. BUT, THIS MORNING WHEN TRYING TO MKE A NEW POT OF COFFEE THE WATER DID NOT EMPTY INTO THE FILTER. I TRIED EVERYTHING BUT STILL COULD NOT
GET THE WATER TO GO THRU WHERE I HAD THE COFFEE FILTER...WHAT WENT WRONG?DID MY COFFEE MAKER DIE? HAVEN'T HAD MY COFFEE YET.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 5 for Jamaica Blue Mountain
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Not worth the money

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Customer avatar
FromChicago, IL, USA
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk only
Taste 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aroma 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Uniqueness 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Has earthy fruity and floral notes but had a burnt finish. Good but not worth the money.Try royal vinter. Thats really good.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Thea
Iowa
 
Please wait while more information about Thea is loaded.
Additional information about Thea could not be loaded.
Posted January 23, 2014
I like Gevalia coffee so much I never drink anything else. Have no reason to try another brand, Love it
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 6 for Jamaica Blue Mountain
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

excellent product but packaging needs work

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Customer avatar
FromSandy, Utah
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:1-3 years
Take Gevalia:Other
Taste 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aroma 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is for Gevalia Cappuccino. it tastes good but they only provide five froth packets for 6 k cups. Bottom line is that you actually get only five cups with the last k cup being used as regular coffee. This has happened both times we have purchased the product.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
2014sandy
 
Please wait while more information about 2014sandy is loaded.
Additional information about 2014sandy could not be loaded.
gift
Posted January 15, 2014
I was hoping to find a coffeemaker gift,
to send to out of state family along with
Gevalia coffees.
how can I find that offer again?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 7 for Jamaica Blue Mountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

best coffee

PostedOctober 20, 2013
Customer avatar
FromMonahans, TX, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
this is the best of the best that gevalia has. I just love the flavor, but can't afford it very often.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Shifu
Pennsylvania
 
Please wait while more information about Shifu is loaded.
Additional information about Shifu could not be loaded.
Jamaica Blue Mountain
Posted February 2, 2014
Does this coffee come in k cups?
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Coffeelover4life
Amherst, OH
 
Please wait while more information about Coffeelover4life is loaded.
Additional information about Coffeelover4life could not be loaded.
You're correct
Posted January 4, 2014
This is the mildest coffee ever. It is pricey and I can only REALLY treat myself to a cup of this once in a while. Even in Jamaica it is $30 a pound.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)
Review 8 for Jamaica Blue Mountain
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.

fair

PostedOctober 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:3-5 years
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aroma 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Uniqueness 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I had always wanted to try the Jamaica blue mtn. but the price was a little steep without ever actually ever tasting. I purchased on a 50% off sale and was quite disappointed....the beans were dry when ground and even at the half off price didn't impress at all
No, I do not recommend this product.
Review 9 for Jamaica Blue Mountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

Best Coffee I've Ever Tasted

PostedJune 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love Kona coffee, and this tastes even better. It is the epitome of a smooth coffee.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Review 10 for Jamaica Blue Mountain
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.

Very disappointing

PostedMarch 22, 2013
Customer avatar
FromHouston, TX, USA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk only
Taste 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aroma 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Uniqueness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've had Blue Mountain coffee at a hotel in Las Vegas at $6 a cup; and it was wonderful. When I saw Gevalia was offering it; I thought I'd try it. Very disappointing for the money.
Not very rich and robust.
No, I do not recommend this product.
 
Products I recomend
Peruvian Organic
4.9 out of 5(36)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 11 for Jamaica Blue Mountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.

Very good but overrated

PostedJanuary 12, 2013
Customer avatar
FromHouston, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With sugar only
Taste 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
There are an awfully lot of folks out there who will tell you that JBM is the best coffee in the world, and it is quite good. Like any natural product, there will be variations in quality over time, and some years any coffee will be better than it is in other years. As some reviewers have noted, the quality of JBM seems to have waned some recently, but that doesn't bother me a lot. It happens. Looking at my experience with JBM over many years, I have to say that it is overrated and overpriced. According to my taste buds, New Guinea is a better single-bean coffee (and much cheaper), but JBM is still pretty darn good.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
MHMH45
KSA,Riyadh
 
Please wait while more information about MHMH45 is loaded.
Additional information about MHMH45 could not be loaded.
comment review
Posted October 22, 2013
Your Jusstification about JBM is 100% logic and having sientific reasons, as is not always big names having good quality, specially in kind of products which there are different and variable parameters can affect its quality
+2points
2of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 12 for Jamaica Blue Mountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.

Very yummy!

PostedJanuary 7, 2013
Customer avatar
FromMarina, CA, USA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:Evening
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This most excellent coffee, unlike a lot of coffees, requires no sweetners to counteract the usually bitter, acid flavor that is typical of Speciality Coffees.
The term "Yummy" best describes just how delicious it is.
I served it a couple of times for the night shift at a hospital that I work with over Christmas. To a person, everyone kept asking me: "Where did you get this coffee?" and "Where can I get some. This is great coffee!"
Even days later, one guy was determined to know where he could get some. He said it was one of the best coffees that he had ever had, including some well known "public" ones.
So when I mentioned "Gevalia", he immediately wanted to know their web site.
The price may be up there, but so is the experience of drinking it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Review 13 for Jamaica Blue Mountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.

Never The Same...

PostedNovember 30, 2012
Customer avatar
FromDiamond Lake, Umpqua National Forest, Oregon, USA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Other
Taste 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aroma 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Uniqueness 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Back in early 1990's, I ordered this coffee from Gevalia. It was to absolutely die for it was so good! I had never had anything like it before. I wanted to share this wonderful coffee with my husband (now) and ordered. The 1st order was terrible- beans very dry, taste bitter. I called Gevalia and they sent a new order. Well, it's better than the 1st, but the beans are again dry, not as bad as the 1st order, but the taste is something I could find at Starbucks or World Market, NOT what I remember from my 1st purchase. Don't waste your money! You will be sadly disappointed.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Kat7
Diamond Lake, Oregon
 
Please wait while more information about Kat7 is loaded.
Additional information about Kat7 could not be loaded.
Posted December 13, 2012
I'm sorry I confused you. What I am trying to say is that the replacement they sent is good. Don't get me wrong- that is what I rated. The coffee is not bad, but there is no way it could ever compete with the 1st Jamaican Blue I ever had. It simply doesn't rate.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
CalifCoffeeLover
Los Gatos, CA
 
Please wait while more information about CalifCoffeeLover is loaded.
Additional information about CalifCoffeeLover could not be loaded.
Confusing rating
Posted December 11, 2012
I'm not disagreeing with your comments, but if you feel that way, then why did you give it such a high rating? Your comments certainly aren't in synch with the 4 out of 5 rating you gave it. Sounds more like a 2 to me.
+2points
2of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)
Review 14 for Jamaica Blue Mountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.

Best tasting coffee I've ever had!

PostedOctober 19, 2012
Customer avatar
FromClarkridge, AR 72623, USA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I actually tasted coffee in Jamaica and it could not compare to Gevalia Jamaica Blue Mountain Coffee in flavor or aroma. This is by far the best coffee my husband and I have ever tasted! We enjoy it on special occasions and on Sunday mornings with our newspaper, and we find ourselves looking forward to its flavor throughout the week! Nothing can quite compare to it! I would highly recommend this coffee to anyone who would like to try a wonderful coffee for taste and aroma. There is no acidic aftertaste and it is smooth throughout the entire cup. Truly a wonderful coffee!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Review 15 for Jamaica Blue Mountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.

oh yea this is coffee

PostedMay 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Fromva beach
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
the smell, the taste, everything coffee should be this coffee is. i love it so much. perfect for those special sunday snuggle time in the bed
Yes, I recommend this product.
Review 16 for Jamaica Blue Mountain
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.

Not worth the money...

PostedMarch 2, 2012
Customer avatar
FromLos Angeles, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Other
Taste 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aroma 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Uniqueness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've been drinking this for YEARS, and like one of the other reviewers, I've noticed a decline in the quality over the last few years. For $40, I expect VERY GOOD coffee, but, sadly, this is not it. There used to be a delicateness that stood up to sweetner and milk; it's gone now, and it is, at best, average.
I don't blame Gevalia; they get what the growers give them. But this is not worth the money to me.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Read comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer avatar
lngsd
North America
 
Please wait while more information about lngsd is loaded.
Additional information about lngsd could not be loaded.
coffee in general not as good
Posted May 13, 2013
For whatever it's worth, I was corresponding with the owner of one coffee bean merchant. He said the quality of the beans available has been going downhill these past several years. Said the growers told him that weather (climate) changes in temperature, precipitation have had a negative impact on the crop. I read elsewhere too tea growers are complaining of the same thing.
+2points
2of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Tony
Palmdale, California
 
Please wait while more information about Tony is loaded.
Additional information about Tony could not be loaded.
Jamaica Blue Mountain
Posted March 23, 2012
Well, I have tried this coffee some years ago at $ 25.00 a box. It was very smooth and delicious. I see Gevalia has it today at 50% off regular price of $40.00. Wow! What a price increase. I just bought 4 boxes (8 oz) today. I am anxious to try it again. I'll comment again once I have sampled it. I am sure if it was of poor quality, Gevalia would not sell it. I have been a long time customer and have been pleased with my purchases of their fine coffees. Glad to see their products in my local supermarket Von's in Palmdale California USA!
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
RebeccaMinneapolis
 
Please wait while more information about RebeccaMinneapolis is loaded.
Additional information about RebeccaMinneapolis could not be loaded.
What happened?
Posted March 9, 2012
Because of the cost, I don't order this on a regular basis. The last time I ordered (Christmas) I was very disappointed. This coffee used to be amazingly smooth, now it's kind of "acidic". I spent $80 on two boxes and gave one as a gift. I really talked this coffee up to the person I gave it to, now I feel silly because this coffee has definitely changed. I agree with one of the other comments, Gevalia is at the mercy of the growers but if they receive an inferior product, it should not be sold. What happened? This used to be the absolute best!
+4points
4of 4voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (3)
Read comments (3)
Review 17 for Jamaica Blue Mountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.

Awesome coffee!

PostedFebruary 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Best coffee ever! Love the smooth taste - not bitter.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Review 18 for Jamaica Blue Mountain
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.

Lost some quality

PostedNovember 27, 2011
Customer avatar
FromGeorgia, USA
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
This used to be (by far) the best coffee available. Don't know why, but it's quality (flavor, cup-to-cup invariability and its level of "unburnt" taste) has been significantly reduced over the last two years.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Review 19 for Jamaica Blue Mountain
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
+14points
17of 20voted this as helpful.

It's Ok as Blue Mountain Jamaican goes

PostedNovember 23, 2011
Customer avatar
FromBoston, MA
Age:I'd rather not say
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Other
I've had all kinds of Blue Mountain Jamaican coffee and was surprised to be disappointed in Gevalia's version of it. As a coffee I find Jamaican Blue Mountain in general - boring. Gevalia's version is just a bit more bold, making it boringly bold and way overpriced.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
EnglishRob
 
Please wait while more information about EnglishRob is loaded.
Additional information about EnglishRob could not be loaded.
A medium coffee
Posted August 15, 2013
I have had JBM in the past and it was superb, but now it no better than a few coffee's. New Guinea for instance is comparable and cheaper. For the price of BJM I expect it to be a lot better. Its not worth the money in my opinion.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
steelydan
 
Please wait while more information about steelydan is loaded.
Additional information about steelydan could not be loaded.
Posted October 20, 2012
Has lost something in the last couple years. I ordered this for the first time about 9 years ago and it was wonderful. Maybe because it was my first time. Since then it has lost some flavor and for the quality is way overpriced. I regret I can't order it more often because it is too expensive. If it was on sale once in a while I would order it more.
+2points
2of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)