Customer reviews for Gevalia Kenya

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Gevalia.

Gevalia Kenya

Kenya
Overall rating:
4.515 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 33 reviews
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
28 out of 32(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Kenya
Review 1 for Kenya
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

Inconsistent

PostedMay 7, 2014
Customer avatar
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Taste 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Aroma 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Uniqueness 
2 / 5
2 / 5
We have been getting Kenya via auto-delivery for 10+ years. Over the past two years, the quality has become inconsistent. Approximately one bag out of four has good flavor yet still not the smooth flavor from previous years. As a result, we are discontinuing our auto-delivery. Instead, we will purchase Gevalia Traditional from our local grocery. So far, its taste meets the Gevalia standards of yesterday.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Review 2 for Kenya
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Exquisite marriage of acidic and earthy notes

PostedApril 16, 2014
Customer avatar
FromScottsdale, AZ, USA
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:3-5 years
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A very very superior coffee. Tangy, acidic notes with earthy, "muddy" tones. Incredible bouquet of aromas and flavors. Excellent farming practices, along with a careful harvest/fermentation/drying/roasting process: that is what Gevalia's Kenya coffee follows from. This is a rare product inspired by passion. Congratulations!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Review 3 for Kenya
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Ok

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Customer avatar
FromOmaha, NE, USA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:3-5 years
Take Gevalia:With sugar only
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love Kenya flavor. One of the best flavors from Gevalia.
I hope You continue to have it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Review 4 for Kenya
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

My benchmark for enjoyable coffee!

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Customer avatar
FromOak Park, CA 91377, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No coffee has ever scored so high for me in the combined areas of taste, aroma, and uniqueness for so long. The Kenya Varietal is never sating, and always brings that "now that's a cup of coffee." Ever since your offering of the Meru Varietal many years ago and the continuation with this Kenya Varietal I've always had a benchmark for the exact coffee type that I enjoy in the long-run. Do keep it in stock!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Review 5 for Kenya
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.

my first disappointment

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Customer avatar
FromDaytwah, MI
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aroma 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Uniqueness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Have been an off and on Gevalia customer for years, both retail and mail. This is the first one that's disappointing to me.
The flavor seems "muddy", I'm not sure how to describe it exactly. Nothing distinct in aroma or taste, just a flat, dull flavor with virtually no aroma.
This is after brewing in either my Bunn home model or Melitta pour over. Not sure what is going on.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Mexico1
Chicagoland
 
Please wait while more information about Mexico1 is loaded.
Additional information about Mexico1 could not be loaded.
Package Variation
Posted April 30, 2014
Real Kenyan coffee has almost no equal. It is also the most under rated coffee on the market. However, like other coffee, the variation per package/shipment can be significant. I have also had some variation by package, but again, there is no way around it. Gevalia's Dominican Republic coffee is, however, the real star of the show. Wow!
A coffee fanatic
 
Products related to my comment
Karoma Estate
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 6 for Kenya
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

Our favorite Gevalia selection

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Customer avatar
FromSC
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Though we have enjoyed Traditional and Colombian and still get as part of our shipments, we found Kenyan to have a smoothness and lack of acidity that makes it our favorite. Just returned from Kenya with a selection of premium coffees and Gevalia provides a competent equal...without the plane fare.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Review 7 for Kenya
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.

Too Bitter for Me

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Taste 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aroma 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Uniqueness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I do not like this blend. It tastes too bitter, to me. I like strong coffee with full-bodied flavor, but this reminds me of Starbucks coffee -- tastes over-roasted and burned. If you like a stronger-tasting coffee (or like Starbucks), you might like it.But for me, it just doesn't work. I love Mocca Java, for example.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Review 8 for Kenya
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

Outstanding!

PostedNovember 27, 2013
Customer avatar
FromWashington DC metro-area
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hands down, this is my absolute favorite coffee in the Gevalia line. The aroma is heavenly (I'd buy it for the smell alone#, and the coffee itself is smooth & as so many others have pointed out leaves no aftertaste. I enjoy every cup, from the first to the last in each set of bags I open #I mix the regular and decaf to cut back on caffeine). For me, this is as close to coffee perfection I've ever come!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Review 9 for Kenya
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Close Your Eyes and Picture an African Safari

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Customer avatar
FromPhoenix, AZ, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:3-5 years
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This roast is exactly how I would picture an African Safari! I expect my coffee to be dark, bold, and strong. I was a little nervous when I opened the package and saw the beans were lightly roasted. But wow! The aroma hit me like a fresh rain! It promised something different; something I wouldn't normally seek. Once brewed the steam enticed me with the same bouquet the beans promised; A unique aroma that tastes just as promised. This coffee is step away from the ordinary. Take a trip to Africa even if it is only via this fine roast.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Review 10 for Kenya
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

perfect cup of coffee

PostedOctober 20, 2013
Customer avatar
FromNashville, TN, USA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Years ago, when I was college, my mom was on auto-buy for the Columbian coffee. She had dozens of little "sample" packs and she would send me back to school with several tucked in my bag. I was able to try a lot of different coffees, all very good in their own way, but my favorite was the Kenya. It still is. It has a rich taste, isn't in the least bit bitter, and tastes exactly the way I think coffee should taste. I have to drink decaf now, and Gevalia's decaf Kenya is excellent. I hope they start to make it for my Keurig! Hint, hint!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Review 11 for Kenya
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Very good product!!

PostedOctober 3, 2013
Customer avatar
FromGeorgia, USA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:1-3 years
Take Gevalia:Other
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My husband is the coffee drinker but based on his feedback, this product gets high marks. We've been customers since 2010 and he has tried other varieties and he settled on this one. The aroma is strong and fresh and pleasant as a coffee. I would recommend to anyone looking for a new flavor.
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products I recomend
Chamomile Dream Tea
4.2 out of 5(10)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Review 12 for Kenya
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Simply the best

PostedOctober 3, 2013
Customer avatar
FromLynchburg, VA, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My wife and I agree that Gevalia's Kenya coffee is our all-time favorite. I am sure this is not only due to the source, but also the lengths Gevalia goes to, in keeping it fresh -- and delivering it fresh.
We have yet to find another roaster's offering that comes up to Gevalia's standard! Keep up the great work!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Review 13 for Kenya
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Great taste and aroma

PostedSeptember 28, 2013
Customer avatar
FromIdaho
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
As one who usually prefers a slightly darker roast, I was not expecting this to be as tasty as it was, so I was pleasantly surprised. It is delicious and fills the house with a great aroma. It is not my absolute favorite, but is very well balanced.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Review 14 for Kenya
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Perfect Dark Roast Flavor

PostedJune 30, 2013
Customer avatar
FromDelmar, MD, USA
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It has been nearly impossible to find any Kenyan blends locally, so I have resorted to internet searching. This blend surpassed my expectations and I will definitely be re-ordering in the future!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Review 15 for Kenya
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

By far my favorite coffee

PostedMay 11, 2013
Customer avatar
FromIowa, USA
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:Special occasions
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been on auto delivery on this Coffee for 10+ years now and this is the Coffee that made me start. It is very smooth, no after taste, and has a rich full flavour without being too smoky or bitter.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Review 16 for Kenya
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

My Most Favorite Coffee is Kenya

PostedMay 1, 2013
Customer avatar
FromFlorida
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk only
I have tried many kinds of coffee, weak and strong, but I keep coming back to the Kenya. I have a Keurig coffee maker and needless to say, I was given many boxes of coffee with my coffee maker and I have bought many kinds, but I still keep coming back to my Kenya. It is very flavorfull, with no aftertaste and in my opinion, the strength is just perfect. Can't begin to tell you how many boxes of this coffee I've bought over the years, but it has been quite a lot. I use 2 of the Gevalia scoops in my solo reusable coffee container and it gives me a perfect 16 oz mug of coffee.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Review 17 for Kenya
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Wonderful coffee

PostedDecember 25, 2012
Customer avatar
FromKodiak, AK
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been on auto delivery for about 10 years now. I always look forward to receiving my coffee order every month. Thanks for such wonderful coffee.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Review 18 for Kenya
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

The wow factor!

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Customer avatar
FromDetroit ,Michigan
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Other
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I remember the first time I tried this product I thought WOW!, And I've been hooked every since. I strongly recommend this product.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Review 19 for Kenya
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.

This coffee has a wonderful winey linger on the tongue

PostedSeptember 13, 2012
Customer avatar
FromDearborn Heights, MI, USA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
This coffee has been delivered to my home for a few years now, and it is still wonderful. It has a nice fruity, acidic taste. Kind of like an excellent Colombian, but better. I hope it never changes.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Review 20 for Kenya
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Coffee Taste as Good as the Smell!

PostedAugust 9, 2012
Customer avatar
FromFair Oaks, CA, USA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk only
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The first time I ever tasted Kenya Coffee was over 30 years ago ... before I found Gevalia. Kenya renewed my faith that there was such a thing as coffee that tasted as good as it smelled. I always return to Kenya as my favorite coffee. With so many coffee purchase options available now, Gevalia has the best to offer. I am never disappointed with their Kenya coffee. This wonderful coffee is for those of us who like the coffee nuttiness of a medium roast. If you prefer a DARK roast ... I think of this as burned coffee ... this coffee is NOT for you. This coffee is for coffee drinkers who want to taste the real coffee flavor that matches that enticing smell. For me Gevalia Kenya is that coffee!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
darlenet
Eagan, MN USA
 
Please wait while more information about darlenet is loaded.
Additional information about darlenet could not be loaded.
The best cofffee is Kenya
Posted October 3, 2013
I have tried other brands of Kenya and this is the best, have used it for years....I use a coffee press and when I have company they comment how good the flavor is, keep this wonderfull coffee.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
1 2 next>>