Customer reviews for Gevalia Light Roast

Gevalia Light Roast

Light Roast
Overall rating:
4.8 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
17 out of 19(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for Light Roast
Review 1 for Light Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

I LOVE the light roast! Due to the current trend of strong bitter coffees being popular, a smooth light coffee is hard to find. Thanks Gevalia!!

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Customer avatar
FromCottonwood, AZ
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:Within last year
Take Gevalia:With milk only
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really love the Light Roast! I tried every store in the area that carried Gevalia brand and found that they no longer stock the Light Roast. Instead, they favor the stronger bitter coffees thinking that that's all people want anymore. WRONG!! I prefer smooth classic coffee flavor without bitterness that may upset my stomach. So I called Gevalia and asked the rep what was their closest match to Light Roast that my grocer may stock. She said the Traditional Roast would be closest but explained to me the great June online offer that gave me free shipping on two boxes. So I ordered the Light Roast and am so glad I did. Almost every morning I tell my wife after the first sip " wow, that's great coffee". No more experimenting and wasting money buying coffee that I don't like. Buying a bag of unknown coffee off the store shelf just to try it is the same as "buying a pig in a poke", as they say. As long as they still make the Light Roast available, I am a customer for life! Thanks Gevalia also for your very helpful customer service reps!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Light Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Whole bean, best ever

PostedApril 12, 2014
Customer avatar
FromNewport, RI
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:3-5 years
Take Gevalia:With milk only
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Gevalia whole bean light roast is THE best coffee ever. In the whole bean form we can grind it the way we like and have it totally fresh every day. The flavor of this coffee is just what it smells like. Not bitter at all. Light, almost floral notes grace the pot. As I said, The best we've ever had, and we looked for a long time!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Light Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

Smooth rich flavor

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Customer avatar
FromNew Jersey
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Other
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The Gevlaia Light roast has a smooth rich flavor. I grind enough Gevalia Light roast coffee with my burr grinder for each pot of coffee. I enjoy aroma of the beans grinding. This fresh grind give a consistent brew off coffee.My ratio is 1.5 oz of coffee to 10 cups of spring water.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Light Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

Delightful

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Customer avatar
FromHatfield, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Afternoon
Length of use:3-5 years
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The coffee has a wonderful taste while at the same time it doesn't irritate a sensitive mouth or stomach! Hallelujah!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Light Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

It tastes the way ground coffee smells!

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Customer avatar
FromMansfield, Pa.
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
I have drunk this coffee for over ten years. I primarily love that I have no bitter after taste, and it's the closest coffee to that luscious aroma when you first open ground coffee, or just after grinding your own beans.
If Gevalia ever discontinues the Light Roast, I will stop drinking coffee!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GevaliaBy CSRFebruary 10, 2014
We are sorry you are disappointed. Our focus is to bring you the highest quality coffee possible and to do so; we must focus on sourcing only the best beans from around the world. We’re sorry about your disappointment and want to let you know it was not an easy decision to discontinue Light Roast Whole Bean. Because your loyalty is important to us we would love to have one of our coffee experts recommend alternatives we think you’ll love. Please call us at 1-800-GEVALIA. We would love to help you pick another variety!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Light Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Light Roast is My All-Time Choice

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Customer avatar
FromRaleigh, NC, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk only
Gevalia's Light Roast is becoming more and more valuable to me. The trends have gone to dark roasts and flavored coffees, so, light roast coffee is harder to find -- except at Gevalia. I'm particular about the way I begin my day: Gevalia's Light Roast does that just right.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Light Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Favorite coffee

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Customer avatar
FromMonticello, MS, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Afternoon
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
This is my favorite coffee. I have been drinking it for many years. Would love to see it available in k-cups.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Light Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.

Finally, a coffee we can agree on!

PostedOctober 3, 2013
Customer avatar
FromGermantown, MD, USA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:1-3 years
Take Gevalia:With milk only
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Uniqueness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My husband and I have different tastes in coffee...the Gevalia light roast fits both our tastes. Clean and smooth taste, always fresh and consistently good!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Light Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.

Excellent

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Customer avatar
FromAnthony New Mexico, USA
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My first experience with this coffee was not what I expected. This coffee is very smooth and not as bitter as the darker roasted coffees. As an experiment, since this coffee is only available on line, I bought another brand of light roast coffee at the local market to find that the color was darker and the taste of the coffee more bitter in comparison. Do not be fooled, this coffee has more caffeine than the darker roasts; the only thing you are giving up is the bitter taste. Therefore, if you like coffee that is mild in taste, does not stick with you all day, and will not let you down caffeine wise, then I recommend this coffee.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
SueZQ
Blacklick OH
 
Please wait while more information about SueZQ is loaded.
Additional information about SueZQ could not be loaded.
The Best!
Posted October 3, 2013
I've been getting the Lite Roast for years and love it! It's so smooth and just right for my taste.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 10 for Light Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Lite Roast

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Customer avatar
FromHoward OH
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Lite Roast is out all-time favorite . . . it is perfect for the way we drink our coffee . . . .black! It's the way we begin our days . . . and sometimes we treat ourselves again in the early afternoon. I just signed up for auto delivery so we will always have this in the pantry. I also love giving it as little gifts to some of my very special friends!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Light Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

introduced to the best!

PostedApril 24, 2013
Customer avatar
FromRocky Mount, NC, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have enjoyed Gevalia for many years. I was trying different blends/roasts until I hit upon the light roast. It is smooth, and delightful. I love it. Not too strong, leaves no "after taste" if you want to call it that. I use the decaf as recommended by my doc for my high blood pressure. Don't change this coffee, please! :)
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Light Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

A Great Start For Every Day!

PostedApril 24, 2013
Customer avatar
FromHighland Village, Tx
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
We have been Gevalia fans for years! We mix the light roast regular with the light roast decaf so we can enjoy many, many cups a day. The aroma when opening the boxes caught my attention before I shared my husband's passion for coffee and made me want to try it. Now I love Gevalia coffee too! We find the Light Roast very palatable offering a rich flavor without any bitter after taste!
Through the years we have shared Gevalia products with family members and close friends when I wanted a special gift to give. I hope someday your company will bring back your unique specialty baskets that offered gourmet cookies and treats along with the coffees - they were awesome and really appreciated by all the people we sent them too!
Thanks Gevalia for a great product!
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products I recomend
 
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Light Roast
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Great coffee, but not for everyone

PostedApril 24, 2013
Customer avatar
FromCypress, CA
Taste 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aroma 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Uniqueness 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I don't drink coffee, but make it most Saturday's for my wife's art workshop. Many times, I grind the Gevalia beans that morning or the previous evening. The guys generally don't like exotic "flavors" while painting - maybe it's too distracting. The women vary with how strong they like their coffee. Almost all have travelled. My observation is that these people seem to think that the light roast, even when using a lot, seems a little watered down. Of course, dark roast can be overwhelming, so I have to carefully add the right amount. So, I'll be using several of the other more traditional coffees that Gevalia offers. Hope this helps coffee drinkers and makers!
No, I do not recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Light Roast
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Bland, even for a breakfast blend

PostedFebruary 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Taste 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aroma 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Uniqueness 
2 / 5
2 / 5
After reading the reviews, I had high hope for this breakfast blend. However, it is very bland and does not have a good aroma. I tried using more coffee bean, but then the taste becomes a bit sour. I would not recommend this.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Fisherman
North Carolina
 
Please wait while more information about Fisherman is loaded.
Additional information about Fisherman could not be loaded.
Posted December 7, 2013
I would like the Light roast for my Keurig®. Will this ever be possible??
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 15 for Light Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

Excellent coffee for beginners like me!

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Customer avatar
FromWestern, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Afternoon
Length of use:Within last year
Take Gevalia:With milk only
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Uniqueness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Having thought that coffee smelled rancid all my life, I began preparing it for my husband, and when the opportunity came to try Gevalia, I ordered the whole bean light roast, as my husband usually prefers light to medium roasts. I tried some one morning because it smelled fresh and unlike other regular coffees. Plus, I love CM Natural Bliss creamers that I have used in another Gevalia flavored coffee. I added my cream and was so pleased at how smooth and fresh the aroma and taste were. It is our staple Gevalia coffee, and we are just beginning to branch out to try other coffees. Can be a little weak IF you do not add enough coffee to your coffee maker.
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products I recomend
 
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Light Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Aroma whets your taste buds!

PostedOctober 18, 2012
Customer avatar
FromChesapeake Beach, MD, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:3-5 years
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Been buying Light Roast for several years now and the product has not changed in flavor. It is still fantastic to drink and savor each time I drink it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Don21
 
Please wait while more information about Don21 is loaded.
Additional information about Don21 could not be loaded.
Posted December 2, 2012
Our daughter sent us a coffee maker and a selection of coffees from Gevalia. I can't seem to find it on your site. I believe it was called an Evening Blend Coffee....very mild outstanding taste....or do I have the wrong company? Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 17 for Light Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.

Smooth

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Customer avatar
FromFlorida
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:Within last year
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Uniqueness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mellow taste, the low acidity lets me drink an extra cup!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Light Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Love coffe

PostedMay 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Fromhudson, n.h.
Age:I'd rather not say
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
Taste 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aroma 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uniqueness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great coffee when you want a more mellow blend.
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products I recomend
 
 
Stockholm Roast
4.8 out of 5(38)
 
 
 
 
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Light Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

Delicious!

PostedDecember 1, 2011
Customer avatar
FromCrystal Lake, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:3-5 years
Take Gevalia:Black
This coffee is delicious. Very smooth with a good flavor.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Light Roast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.

this coffee is great!

PostedNovember 28, 2011
Customer avatar
FromIdaho
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:3-5 years
Take Gevalia:With milk only
I love this coffee! It's smooth and not bitter. It's definetly my morning coffee! Great job!
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products I recomend
 
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
tleeg1
 
Please wait while more information about tleeg1 is loaded.
Additional information about tleeg1 could not be loaded.
Supermarket vs mailorder
Posted June 5, 2014
I am very unhappy that what I buy at the store is not available on-line. I'm asuming the light roast is going to be the same as the Traditional blend. What I buy is mild, not the die hard dark roasts. Why not use the same terminolgy throughout? I don't get it?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
gisela
 
Please wait while more information about gisela is loaded.
Additional information about gisela could not be loaded.
Posted April 23, 2012
the only coffe i drink..its mild not so much acid,,flavor excellent,,,
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)