Customer reviews for Gevalia® Canister

Gevalia® Canister

Gevalia® Canister
Overall rating:
2.125 / 5
2.1
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
10
3 out of 15(20%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for Gevalia® Canister
Review 1 for Gevalia® Canister
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Last longer than many other brands

PostedNovember 24, 2013
Customer avatar
FromDedham, Ma.
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
Have tried many brands of coffee canisters over the years, and have found that the ones that we purchased from Gevalia always out lasted the others. They stay nice and tight, and keep the coffee fresh all the time. The seals always keep ,the coffee fresh for much longer than the others we have tries: DDs, WS, etc. Very reasonably priced as well.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Gevalia® Canister
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

Nothing special but read on...

PostedAugust 17, 2013
Customer avatar
FromIndianapolis
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:Within last year
It is lightweight, about 425 grams empty. It can take a bit of a beating and stay functional. You can probably even drop it and it will not break. You don't really have to worry about it being knocked over, say by children, and it really hurting someone or breaking into pieces and shards. If you like all the above qualities this canister is for you, And that's the only reason I gave it a good rating. I would not buy this one, you have to keep making sure the seal is on properly. That's my main gripe about this canister. I got it as a free gift. I like the Cream Canister much better than this one. It weighs over 1100 grams empty and very breakable if dropped, but is well built and sturdy with a good seal. I would actually pay for the Cream Canister, which I also got as a gift.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Gevalia® Canister
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.

Purchase only at 90% off plus free shipping

PostedMay 22, 2013
Customer avatar
FromTexas, USA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:Within last year
Take Gevalia:Black
Lid does not fit canister body. There is no airtight seal and lid actually wobbles on the base. I received a black version from several years ago that is wonderful. Unfortunately the white version cannot compare and should only be sold at 90% reduction.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
gingersa
San Antonio, TX
 
Please wait while more information about gingersa is loaded.
Additional information about gingersa could not be loaded.
Wrong product
Posted July 6, 2013
This was a review for the white canister when I submitted it. I have no idea why it was assigned to the stainless version.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 4 for Gevalia® Canister
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.

Bad quality

PostedMarch 29, 2013
Customer avatar
FromToa Alta, Puerto Rico
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:3-5 years
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
The lid seal is a very bad quality. I will never buy it again.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Gevalia® Canister
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.

Its a 50/50 toss-up on this one ??!!

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Other
Its a nice looking canister if you are going for the "stainless" look but the ceramic canisters have much better functionality (seal and looks). This one has better durability especially if you have "dropsies" oops hehe!! I have several of both and "prefer" ceramics especially for price reasons alone. I notice people complain of problems with the seal on the stainless but I don't have a problem with that. If any complaint it might be this one holds a "mixture of aromas" if you put different roasts or flavored coffees in it, whereas ceramics do not (and YES I do wash it out, haha).
Hope this helps -- enjoy ur Java !!
 
Products I recomend
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Gevalia® Canister
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

Silver Canister - Poor Design

PostedFebruary 18, 2013
Customer avatar
FromSt Augustine, FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Other
I have to agree with all those who wrote poor reviews of this canister. We have had ours for a few years as a gift and have never liked the way the lid fits. I have no problem with the knob but the seal is awful. I cannot make the lid go and stay all the way down into the can. When I do get it to go almost all the way in - by twisting and turning it while pressing down, it immediately pops back up until only the first ring is sealing the canister. Don't even try to pick it up by the top in this case as you WILL find the lid flying across the room. Terrible design and function. I wish Gevalia would offer to replace these bad canisters with something better.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Gevalia® Canister
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

Use it at work.

PostedJanuary 24, 2013
Customer avatar
We all think it is great and does the job perfectly. The coffee is fresh and the lid works great.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Gevalia® Canister
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.

We use in the coffee room at work

PostedDecember 5, 2012
Customer avatar
FromMedical Lake, WA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:3-5 years
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
We love this product. We use it at work in the coffee area and find the tight lid keeps the coffee fresh. The cannister holds 3 boxes of coffee - perfect for an office area where lots of coffee is brewed through out the day.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Gevalia® Canister
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.

Does its job

PostedNovember 23, 2012
Customer avatar
FromHouston, TX, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With sugar only
This canister works. I received it several years ago as a free gift with an order, so I can't complain a whole lot, but it's not worth the regular price. I would never buy one or recommend it to a friend. The lid is difficult to remove and will occasionally go flying across the kitchen, but it does form an airtight seal. All things considered, it does its job, but the old ceramic canisters were better. (Luckily I still have a couple of those!)
No, I do not recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Gevalia® Canister
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

poor design

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer avatar
The lid is as bad as everyone else has stated. I ended up buying something else to store coffee. The canister is now a utensil holder by my stove, but it was also a "free gift". Otherwise, it would have gone back.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Gevalia® Canister
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

Very poor design for lid

PostedAugust 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Length of use:So long I can't remember
I totally agree with all the previous reviews - this canister has a very poor design for the lid. The small knob pulled off within a week and now it will not stay on - I have to work the lid off from around the edge and it is very difficult. YES, PLEASE go back to the excellent porcelain canisters.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Gevalia® Canister
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.

stainless shameless

PostedAugust 18, 2012
Customer avatar
FromDenton, MD
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk only
I think the top is difficult to remove and putting back on I have to work it some that the lid is down as far as it will go down for a complete seal.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Gevalia® Canister
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.

Bring back the Porcelain Canisters

PostedApril 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Not worth the money. Gevalia needs to bring back its traditional porcelain canisters.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Marday
Gotha, Fl
 
Please wait while more information about Marday is loaded.
Additional information about Marday could not be loaded.
Posted May 16, 2012
I agree with Coffeegirl 100%.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
CoffeeJan
Upper Marlboro, MD
 
Please wait while more information about CoffeeJan is loaded.
Additional information about CoffeeJan could not be loaded.
Bring Back Porcelain
Posted May 9, 2012
I agree, that's what I'm looking for! The one I had broke and I want to replace it, it was blue and matched my kitchen decor.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)
Review 14 for Gevalia® Canister
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.

Waste of money!

PostedApril 16, 2012
Customer avatar
FromFairfield, OH, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Other
I have a few of the ceramic canisters and they work perfectly. They seal tightly and are easy to open and close. These metal canisters are a disaster. I had one for about 4 months. Not only was it hard to open and close, but the seal on the lid will no longer fit into the canister. My husband tried to fix it, but the seal is cheap. I threw the whole thing away. I would not have given this one star, but I could not give it less.
Gevalia, bring back the ceramic canisters!!!!!
No, I do not recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Gevalia® Canister
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.

Disappointing

PostedMarch 11, 2012
Customer avatar
FromMo
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
I have been with Gevalia for years and for Gevalia to repalce their porcelin canisters with these silver ones is very disappointing. These are cheap looking, hard to close (seal) correctly and open and are not worth the price. They should return to offering their PORCELIN canisters, which were always high in quality, great looking AND you could pick the color to match your kitchen. The white porcelin ones were beautiful...wish they were still available because these silver ones are awful!
No, I do not recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Marina
CO
 
Please wait while more information about Marina is loaded.
Additional information about Marina could not be loaded.
Posted September 2, 2012
I was hoping to buy another ceramic canister, and when you have them again, I will. The comments about the silver ones say it all.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 16 for Gevalia® Canister
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.

the product is poor quality

PostedJanuary 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Fromjacksonville fl
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:Within last year
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
for the price i expected a better quality of product. this is a canister that is valued at $5.00 and priced at $39.00
No, I do not recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Words
Midwest
 
Please wait while more information about Words is loaded.
Additional information about Words could not be loaded.
Posted March 26, 2012
Agreed--the porcelain canisters were gorgeous. My BLACK one looks and works great, but the lid has a chip. Would love to be able to replace it with a similar canister, but not one made of metal!
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)