Customer reviews for Gevalia® Basic Coffee for Two

Gevalia® Basic Coffee for Two

Gevalia® Basic Coffee for Two
Overall rating:
4.094 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 32 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
3
1 Star
3
23 out of 31(74%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
49 Questions | 93 Answers
Customer reviews for Gevalia® Basic Coffee for Two
Review 1 for Gevalia® Basic Coffee for Two
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Very Convenient

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Rosalind
FromMerced, CA, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Can't find the right filters for the maker. Love the convenience of only making 1 cup of coffee
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Gevalia® Basic Coffee for Two
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Excellent for small household.

PostedNovember 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Blessedwithone
Age:45-54
Drink Gevalia:All the time
I'm sad to see this is not available because after many years of great use, ours broke this morning. It was great because I could make hot water on one side for my tea and my husband could make coffee on the other side. Already brewed in the travel mug so little waste and the mugs kept the beverages very warm. Would love to know if this coffeemaker becomes available again.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Gevalia® Basic Coffee for Two
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

this coffee maker is perfect for us!

PostedMay 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Rollergranny
FromHutchinson Island, Hutchinson Island South, FL 34957, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:Within last year
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
My husband drinks Decaf and I drink Regular. He likes to go fishing early in the morning and had asked me to purchase a stainless steel travel mug for him. The Gevalia Basic Coffee for Two was perfect for us!! Now he can take his Decaf coffee with him in the morning and when I get up a little later my Regular coffee is brewed and waiting. I highly recommend filling the mugs with hot water to warm them first before making the coffee. It makes a big difference in how hot the coffee is after it's brewed. Great product!! I am very happy with my purchase!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Gevalia® Basic Coffee for Two
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Great for one or two people

PostedApril 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Jimbo
FromChatham, IL, USA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
This coffee maker allows me to make my coffee just the way I like and when a friend is over they can have their the way they like. No waste and no over heated coffee sitting on burner for hours.
Be careful with the one or two cup switch. Mine broke after a year when a friend man handled it (its now stuck on two). I just let the second cup be hot water.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Gevalia® Basic Coffee for Two
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

Poor Design

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Jazz123
FromNY
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:3-5 years
Take Gevalia:With milk only
I have gone through two of these. I got a replacement because I thought the first was bad. It wasn't. The until smells like hot plastic when it brews. The cups smell of hot plastic and not matter how many time I cleaned the unit or the cups and used filtered water it always appeared to have floaters in the cup.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Gevalia® Basic Coffee for Two
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.

Tastes bad

PostedJanuary 31, 2013
Customer avatar
noebug
Fromsouth central florida
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Other
This unit has a metalaic taste to the coffee. I have used tap water, filtered water, bottled water and it all tastes the same.
I have tried running white vinegar through it, a solution of baking soda, running water through it before I brew and nothing works.
There was an earlier version of this and it does work well. Now that one I still use, the other is packed away.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Gevalia® Basic Coffee for Two
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

Perfect for the single coffee/tea drinker

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
jojodallas
FromCoppell, TX, USA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With sugar only
I got this with the free offer over 5 years ago and I still use it every day. The coffee comes out very hot which is not the case with most coffeemakers. I brew into the insulated mugs it came with and also 2 other Gevalia insulated mugs that I've had even longer (though those have finally died recently) and the Gevalia cone cups fit into this machine just as well. I drink coffee in the morning and use 2 tea bags in the cone to brew ice tea many afternoons. Love it!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
gidget
 
Please wait while more information about gidget is loaded.
Additional information about gidget could not be loaded.
Posted December 16, 2012
what size paper cone cups fit this i got one at a thrift store gona try it
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 8 for Gevalia® Basic Coffee for Two
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.

Disappointing

PostedNovember 21, 2012
Customer avatar
joecoffee
The machine runs too hot. as a result the coffee is very acidic with a slightly burnt plastic smell to it. Sorry I bought it, even at the reduced price.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Ruben12
TUCSON, AZ
 
Please wait while more information about Ruben12 is loaded.
Additional information about Ruben12 could not be loaded.
Leaking Pot
Posted December 5, 2012
Had the pot for two weeks and the pause and stop not working, Needless to say coffee all over the counter when not expected.. Guranteed but I have written 3 times and given the links and now I will have to wait up to 5 days to to get a call to verify. Going to local store to buy one and I can use it tomorrow. No phone calls to wait or shipping charges and waiting for delivery. Great customer service greeting, poor procedures.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 9 for Gevalia® Basic Coffee for Two
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Love the Coffee for Two

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Customer avatar
birder78
FromAtlanta, GA, USA
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Our family loves this product; it's very easy to use, looks great on our counter, even keeps water colder than any other water bottle we have; thank you for a great product and awesome customer service!!!! In regard to the spilling, I attached a '1 OR 2' label next to the start button and this has helped me to remember to select the quantity before I brew.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Gevalia® Basic Coffee for Two
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Breaks easily.

PostedOctober 7, 2012
Customer avatar
KimJ
FromMenasha, WI, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
I love the idea of brewing two separate cups at the same time, but this coffee maker falls short on quality. I am now on my second and last two cup coffeemaker. The first one broke within the first year, and my second one has several problems including water leaks, doesn't finish brewing before shutdown, have to restart a couple of times before the brewing process is done. And yes, I have cleaned it with machine cleaner, but that itself is a problem. The products are not designed for Gevalia coffee makers. I cannot recommend this product. I love the Gevalia coffee though!
No, I do not recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
peaches
Holiday, Fl
 
Please wait while more information about peaches is loaded.
Additional information about peaches could not be loaded.
Need Black cover for the 2 mug maker
Posted November 15, 2012
Do you have the black cover tht goes over where you put the water in? I have the coffee maker and that piece was lost in a move? Kathy
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 11 for Gevalia® Basic Coffee for Two
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

The Price Is Right Slots

PostedSeptember 16, 2012
Customer avatar
welosbabies
Frommelbourne Fl
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:Within last year
Take Gevalia:Black
I have purchased this coffee maker and its a great device. I wanted to say thank you for letting me and everyone else on the mugs or cups. I hope at Gevalia soon make replacement mugs.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Gevalia® Basic Coffee for Two
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.

Nice coffeemaker

PostedSeptember 6, 2012
Customer avatar
MJ54
FromHartford, CT
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
It's a great coffeemaker. I am disappointed that Gevalia no longer sells the replacement mugs, especially when they still sell the coffee maker. Any chance those mugs will be available again? Or - which of your mugs do you recommend as a replacement?
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
kitty6899
texas
 
Please wait while more information about kitty6899 is loaded.
Additional information about kitty6899 could not be loaded.
replacemeent mugs
Posted January 17, 2013
most times its because they want to sell the whole coffee pot again at 74.00 rather than 10 or 15 they charged for the cups
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
SherryD
Florida
 
Please wait while more information about SherryD is loaded.
Additional information about SherryD could not be loaded.
Replacement mugs
Posted September 24, 2012
Yes I need replacement mugs as well......I can't believe they don't have them!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)
Review 13 for Gevalia® Basic Coffee for Two
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

Great idea

PostedSeptember 3, 2012
Customer avatar
claymask
FromCopperas Cove, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
Love this machine, got it free with a coffee deal that was in the mail. Its perfect since I drink decaf and my husband does not. However he left one of the cups at work and we have not been able to use the machine again.
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products I recomend
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
bricsa
Seattle, WA
 
Please wait while more information about bricsa is loaded.
Additional information about bricsa could not be loaded.
It sounds like...
Posted February 18, 2013
your husband *lost* one of the cups at work? If so, that doesn't seem to make the maker unusable, but it does limit its use to the "1 cup" setting...and, never put more than 1 cup of water in, as the coffee maker will keep going (as I remember) otherwise. It also sounds like one can't just buy an extra cup, after all, permanent filters from the company don't seem to be available for some reason! Maybe one of those who are dissatisfied will send you one of their cups???
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 14 for Gevalia® Basic Coffee for Two
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.

REPLACEMENT CUPS

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Customer avatar
JoeG
FromCharleston
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:3-5 years
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
The machine is great, but you can not get replacement cups now. When the insulated band come off, you must be creative.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
JimC
Henrietta, NY, USA
 
Please wait while more information about JimC is loaded.
Additional information about JimC could not be loaded.
replacement mugs
Posted October 26, 2012
While the mugs that come with the maker are not available separately there are other 14 oz. Gevalia mugs that will work in this maker. Go to: http://www.gevalia.com/brown-transparent-travel-mug/V34,default,pd.html?start=10&cgid=accessories
Images for this Comment
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 15 for Gevalia® Basic Coffee for Two
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.

great features

PostedJuly 28, 2012
Customer avatar
johnjohn
FromUpland, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
I use this in my office at work and it is perfect. compact and makes me 1 fresh cup at a time and if a client comes in I can offer him a cup made fresh on the spot not something from the lunch room that has been brewing all day.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Gevalia® Basic Coffee for Two
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.

I like that I can have one cup at a time

PostedJuly 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Cindy
FromFort Myers, FL, USA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:Within last year
Take Gevalia:Other
Great product! I like the fact that I can have one cup at a time .
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Jill45
Springfield, IL
 
Please wait while more information about Jill45 is loaded.
Additional information about Jill45 could not be loaded.
Replacement Mug
Posted September 5, 2012
We like the Gevalia Basic Coffee for Two maker very much since we received it as a gift 3 years ago, however, I need to replace one mug and do not find it on any Gevalia site.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 17 for Gevalia® Basic Coffee for Two
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.

makes great coffee

PostedApril 3, 2012
Customer avatar
robby
FromJay, NY
I was given this machine as a gift years ago and use it every day. It is convenient and makes a great cup quickly. However, you must VERY careful to check the cup settings before pressing the button! A loss of focus leads to overflow and a really messy cleanup not to mention a waste of time and coffee. My wife,who is not a coffee drinker, has threatened to throw the machine away on numerous occasions because of the mess I made. Only abject begging has kept it in the family.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Gevalia® Basic Coffee for Two
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.

hot coffee!

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Customer avatar
coffeelover50
FromHonolulu, HI
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:3-5 years
Take Gevalia:With milk and sugar
I have had two of these, and love it. I moved and left my daughters with my old coffee maker, and bought what I thought would be the same coffee maker since they looked alike. Not. The coffee in the new coffee maker isn't nearly as hot. I love the Gevalia one.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
coffee44
Roseville,Mi
 
Please wait while more information about coffee44 is loaded.
Additional information about coffee44 could not be loaded.
Coffee maker
Posted September 30, 2012
I loves this coffee maker.I have had it for several years.Living alone it's perfect for me. My only complaint is now water goes into the second mug even though it is on the one dial,so I have to put extra water in the tank. Their coffee is very good,I wish they still gave it away free with a coffee order.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 19 for Gevalia® Basic Coffee for Two
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.

poor design

PostedMarch 7, 2012
Customer avatar
cia1979
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Drink Gevalia:All the time
Length of use:1-3 years
Take Gevalia:Black
i cant tell you how many times , we have had to clean up the counter from the over flowing cup, when another household member switches brewer to brew one cup at night , and you fill up well for two cups ,and neglect to check setting . filter waster 1 filter for one cup wheres the reusable mesh filter
No, I do not recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Sheri
Appleton WI
 
Please wait while more information about Sheri is loaded.
Additional information about Sheri could not be loaded.
Posted August 29, 2012
I love the Gevalia Coffee for two. I'm on my second coffee maker and won't part with it. It is so easy and convenient to use as I drink Expresso and my husband drinks Traditional Roast. Also keeps the coffee very warm!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
harley
Roseville,CA.
 
Please wait while more information about harley is loaded.
Additional information about harley could not be loaded.
leaks from filter basket
Posted March 26, 2012
I got one because my girlfriend had one and it was pretty cool to have to travel mugs. Mine didn't come with the timer, like hers did. It started leaking water after just one year. The plastic bumpers on the bottom have all broken off from moving it on the tile counter. It still drips coffee for several minutes after the mug is removed and it's turned off. I will purchase another brand.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)
Review 20 for Gevalia® Basic Coffee for Two
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.

Great Idea

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Customer avatar
KitKat
FromCape May, NJ 08204, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Drink Gevalia:Morning
Length of use:So long I can't remember
Take Gevalia:Black
Have had mine for about four years. It is wonderful when I want to have a flavored coffee or a decafe and husband does not. The versatility of Basic Coffee for Two is a real luxury.
I have found it hard to put the cover on the travel mug after it is brewed. It fills the mug up to the brim and when trying to get the lid on I end up with hot coffee on my hands. I am very careful to measure the water and not put too much in so I don't think that is the reason. I have to remove some of the coffee before putting on the lid. If it were not for this problem I would have given it five star rating.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Lena195
 
Please wait while more information about Lena195 is loaded.
Additional information about Lena195 could not be loaded.
Put the lid on before you brew your coffee
Posted April 24, 2012
We've had this coffee brewer for a few years and love it! When I am at home I only drink half a cup so I don't put the lid on before I brew the coffee.
When I want to bring my coffee, I put the lid on before I brew the coffee. That way I can just take the cup with me, when it's done. I drink my coffee black. If you drink your coffee black you can put the lid on before making the coffee to avoid burning your fingers :)
 
Products related to my comment
 
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
1 2 next>>